Bernd T. Matthias Prize

The BERND T. MATTHIAS PRIZE, created in 1989 by friends and colleagues and originally sponsored by AT&T Bell Labs, is awarded in recognition of innovative contributions to the material aspects of superconductivity. Since 2000, the Prize has been sponsored by the Texas Center for Superconductivity at the University of Houston, whose founding director, Paul C. W. Chu, was Matthias’ former student. The Prize consists of $5,000. USD and a special framed certificate designed by the Kamerlingh Onnes Laboratory in Leiden, The Netherlands. 

Matthias Prize Chairman
Paul C.W. Chu (Chair and Contact)  
Texas Center for Superconductivity                                     
University of Houston Science Center – 202  
Houston, TX 77204-5002 USA 
Phone: (713) 743-8222; Fax: (713) 743-8201     


2012 PRIZE NOMINATION DEADLINE:  February 15, 2012.
The nomination letter outlining the outstanding contributions of the nominee, three letters of support and a Full CV should be sent to the Prize Chair by email attachment or fax.


Prize Recipients 2000 - 2009
The Bernd T. Matthias Prize for 2009 was awarded to co-recipients PROFESSOR YOSHITERU MAENO of Kyoto University, for his 1994 discovery and subsequent purification of Sr2RuO4 that creates a unique platform for revealing decisively some unusual features of superconductivity, and PROFESSOR HIDEO HOSONO of the Tokyo Institute of Technology, for his 2008 discovery of LaO1-xFxFeAs that has heralded in the era of Fe-pnictides for the search for and the unraveling of high temperature superconductivity. The awardees delivered remarks following the Prize Ceremony on September 9, 2009 at the M2S-HTSC-IX Conference in Tokyo, Japan.


The Bernd T. Matthias Prize for 2006 was awarded to PROFESSOR DR. FRANK STEGLICH of Max-Planck-Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids, for his 1979 discovery of CeCu2Si2 and the associated novel electronic state that has inaugurated an exciting field of heavy fermion physics. Dr. Steglich delivered the Bernd T. Matthias Prize Lecture entitled “Superconductivity and Magnetism: From Antagonism to Mutual Interplay,” on Tuesday, July 11, 2006 at the M2S-HTSC-VIII Conference, held in Dresden, Germany.


The Bernd T. Matthias Prize for 2003 was awarded to PROFESSOR JUN AKIMITSU of Aoyama Gakuin University for his discoveries of novel superconducting compounds MgB2 and Bi-Sr-Cu-O; and of superconductivity Nd-Ce-Sr-Cu-O and compressed (Sr,CA)14Cu24O41, that have led to the advancement in Tc, opened up new subfields of research and offered new avenues to practical superconducting wire fabrications. Prof. Akimitsu delivered the Bernd T. Matthias Prize Lecture on Monday, May 26, 2003 at the M2S-HTSC-VII Conference, held in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil.


The Bernd T. Matthias Prize for 2000 was awarded to PROFESSOR M. BRIAN MAPLE of The University of California at San Diego, for his pioneering contribution to the understanding of superconducting materials in general, and interplay between magnetism and superconductivity in particular. Prof. Maple delivered the Bernd T. Matthias Prize Lecture, “Three Decades of Progress on Superconductivity and Magnetism in Novel Materials,” Wednesday, February 23, 2000 at the M2S-HTSC-VI Conference, held in Houston, Texas USA. 


Previous Bernd T. Matthias Prize Recipients


1997:  Beijing, China: BERTRAM BATLOGG and ROBERT J. CAVA for their leading work on a variety of superconductors through the successful combination of creative materials chemistry and physics.  


1994:  Grenoble, France: PAUL C. W. CHU, BERNARD RAVEAU and M. K. WU for their outstanding discoveries of mixed valence copper oxides which set the stage for, and expanded the horizons of, high-Tc superconductivity.  


1991:  Kanazawa, Japan: HIROSHI MAEDA and YOSHINORI TOKURA for their discoveries of materials which have led to the delineation of essential structural elements in the high temperature superconducting cuprates.  

1989: Palo Alto, CA, USA: T. H. GEBALE
(Inaugural Prize)