HMC

THE HEADMASTERS' AND HEADMISTRESSES' CONFERENCE

website: www.hmc.org.uk

The HMC dates from 1869, when the celebrated Edward Thring of Uppingham asked thirty-seven of his fellow headmasters to meet at his house to consider the formation of a 'School Society and Annual Conference'. Twelve headmasters accepted the invitation. From that date there have been annual meetings. Thring's intention was to provide an opportunity for discussion at regular intervals, both on practical issues in the life of a school and on general principles in education. He believed that his guests would discharge their practical business more effectively at a residential meeting where they could also enjoy being in the company of like-minded men. Annual Meetings of the HMC still combine formal debate on current educational questions with the second element of conversational exchanges in an agreeable environment. These gatherings, which up to 1939 were usually at individual schools, then took place at a University. Nowadays they are held in major hotels and Conference centres in the Autumn term. In addition to these annual conferences attended by all members, there are local meetings each term arranged by the ten branches or Divisions into which the country is divided.

Present full membership of the HMC is a total of two hundred and fifty two, which now includes headmasters and headmistresses of boys', girls' and co-educational schools. In considering applications for election to membership, the Committee has regard to the degree of independence enjoyed by the Head and his/her school. Eligibility also depends on the academic standards obtaining in the school, as reflected by the proportion of pupils in the Sixth Form pursuing a course of study beyond GCSE and by the school's public examination results, including A Levels, the International Baccalaureate and the Cambridge Pre-U.

The Constitution provides that the full membership shall consist only of heads of independent schools in the UK and Ireland. At the same time, it is held to be a strength that the Conference includes heads of schools of other status. There is provision therefore for the election of a small number of heads of maintained schools (Additional Membership).

In addition the HMC has a number of International members, who are heads of high quality schools from around the world. There is also a small number of Honorary Associates who have been elected to life membership on retirement.

The HMC is closely associated with the other independent sector associations that also belong to the Independent Schools Council (ISC), and with the Association of School and College Leaders (ASCL), which represents the Heads and senior staff of secondary schools and colleges in both the maintained and independent sectors.

The HMC Committee 2012–2013

Chairman Vice-Chairman Chairman-Elect Treasurer Chairman – East Secretary – East Chairman – Irish Secretary - Irish Chairman – London Secretary – London Chairman – North East Secretary – North East Chairman – North West Secretary – North West Chairman – Scottish Secretary – Scottish Chairman – South Central Secretary – South Central Chairman – South East Secretary – South East Chairman – South West Secretary – South West Chairman – West Secretary - West Chairman – International

Co-opted Members

Chairman of Academic Policy Chairman of Professional Development Chairman of Universities Chairman of Inspection Chairman of Communications Kenneth Durham Tim Hands Barry Martin Philip John Gill Dixon Scott Naismith Moore Dickson Mark Steed Sarah Kerr-Dineen Michael Gibbons Andrew Fleck John Clark Christopher Jeffery David Girdwood Gordon Woods Simon Williams Michael Windsor Peter Green Mike Buchanan Martin Reader **Richard Backhouse** Jonathan Lancashire John Watson Steffen Sommer

Chris Ray

Peter Hamilton Chris King Chris Ramsey Stephen Cole Kevin Fear Tony Little The Manchester Grammar School University College School Magdalen College School Hampton School Gresham's School Trent College Methodist College, Belfast Belfast Royal Academy Berkhamsted School Forest School The Grammar School at Leeds Sedbergh School **Birkenhead School** The Grange School St Columba's School Glenalmond College Churcher's College Reading Blue Coat School Ardingly College Ashford School Wellington School Monkton Combe School Dean Close School Bablake School British School of Paris

Haberdashers' Aske's Boys' School Leicester Grammar School King's School, Chester Woodbridge School Nottingham High School Eton College

General Secretary: William Richardson, BA, DPhil (Tel: 01858 469059) *Membership Secretary*: Ian Power, MA (Tel: 01858 465260)

Headmasters' and Headmistresses' Conference 12 The Point, Rockingham Road, Market Harborough, Leicestershire LE16 7QU Tel: 01858 465260 • Fax: 01858 465759 • e-mail: hmc@hmc.org.uk