WHS Logo


“Rabat, modern capital and historic city, a shared heritage” shows different construction phases from the Almohad period (12th century) up to the present day.

The city was substantially modernized by the French from 1912 on, resulting in the Ville Nouvelle.

The site consists of:
• The New Town
• Jardin d’Essais
• The Medina of Rabat
• The Oudaďa Kasbah
• The Almohad ramparts and gates
• The archaeological site of Chellah
• Hassan Mosque and Mohammed V Mausoleum,
• Habous de Diour Jamaâ quarter

Year Decision Comments
2012 Inscribed Reasons for inscription


Have you been to Rabat, modern capital and historic city: a shared heritage? Share your experiences!

Add your own review