The 2012 Detroit Film Critics Society Awards

December 14, 2012

Silver Linings Playbook The Detroit Film Critics Society is pleased to announce the Best of 2012 winners in ten categories. The society was founded in spring 2007 and consists of a group of seventeen film critics who write or broadcast in the Detroit area as well as other major cities within a 150-mile radius of the city including Ann Arbor, Grand Rapids, Kalamazoo, Lansing, and Flint, Michigan.

Each critic submitted their top five picks in the following categories: Best Picture, Best Director, Best Actor, Best Actress, Best Supporting Actor, Best Supporting Actress, Best Ensemble, and Breakthrough Performance, Best Screenplay, and Best Documentary. From these submissions, each entry was given a point value and the top five in each category have been placed on the final ballot. One category, Best Ensemble, has a tie with six nominees. The 2012 winners will be announced on December 14, 2012.

Taking five awards this year was Silver Linings Playbook. Leading with seven nominations this year is Silver Linings Playbook. Other top nominees include Lincoln with six nominations and Take This Waltz with four nominations. Argo, The Master, The Perks of Being a Wallflower, and Zero Dark Thirty, each received three nominations and both Sarah Polley and Stephen Chbosky have received two nominations.


The Best of 2012
as picked by the Detroit Film Critics Society
(nominees are listed in alphabetical order)


  • Winner: Silver Linings Playbook
  • Argo
  • The Impossible
  • Take This Waltz
  • Zero Dark Thirty


  • Winner: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Ben Affleck, Argo
  • Juan Antonio Bayona, The Impossible
  • Kathryn Bigelow, Zero Dark Thirty
  • Sarah Polley, Take This Waltz


  • Winner: Daniel Day-Lewis, Lincoln
  • Bradley Cooper, Silver Linings Playbook
  • John Hawkes, The Sessions
  • Bill Murray, Hyde Park on Hudson
  • Joaquin Phoenix, The Master


  • Winner: Jennifer Lawrence, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Jessica Chastain, Zero Dark Thirty
  • Greta Gerwig, Damsels in Distress
  • Naomi Watts, The Impossible
  • Michelle Williams, Take This Waltz


  • Winner: Robert De Niro, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Philip Seymour Hoffman, The Master
  • Tommy Lee Jones, Lincoln
  • Matthew McConaughey, Magic Mike
  • Ewan McGregor, The Impossible
  • Ezra Miller, The Perks of Being a Wallflower


  • Winner: Anne Hathaway, Les Miserables
  • Amy Adams, The Master
  • Ann Dowd, Compliance
  • Sally Field, Lincoln
  • Helen Hunt, The Sessions


  • Winner: Lincoln
  • Argo
  • Marvel’s The Avengers
  • Moonrise Kingdom
  • Silver Linings Playbook


  • Winner: Zoe Kazan, Ruby Sparks
  • Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower
  • Rebel Wilson, Pitch Perfect
  • Benh Zeitlin, Beasts of the Southern Wild
  • Craig Zobel, Compliance


  • Winner: David O. Russell, Silver Linings Playbook
  • Stephen Chbosky, The Perks of Being a Wallflower
  • Drew Goddard and Joss Whedon, The Cabin in the Woods
  • Tony Kushner, Lincoln
  • Sarah Polley, Take This Waltz


  • Winner: Jiro Dreams of Sushi
  • The House I Live In
  • The Imposter
  • The Queen of Versailles
  • Searching for Sugar Man