Six candidates in race for European Green primary

The European Green Party (EGP) has confirmed that six candidates will take part in the primary election to be lead candidate in next year’s European elections.

France’s José Bové, Italy’s Monica Frassoni, Germany’s Rebecca Harms and Ska Keller, Austria’s Ulrike Lunacek and the Netherlands’ Jolanda Verburg will now go forward to seek the support of Green member parties from across the EU.

This phase lasts until 7 November, and each candidate needs the support of four member parties. Candidates can be supported by up to eight parties.

Following the Greens’ Council meeting in Brussels on 8-10 November, the eligible candidates will go forward to an online primary election. All EU citizens will be able to participate in the choice of two Green lead candidates, with voting open from 10 November 2013 to 28 January 2014.



José Bové is a French farmer and anti-globalisation protester who was elected to the European Parliament in 2009.

Monica Frassoni was born in Mexico and served as an MEP for Belgium (1999-2004) and then Italy (2004-2009). She was co-leader of the Green Group from 2002 to 2009.

Rebecca Harms is the current co-leader of the Green Group in the European Parliament. You can read our full profile of Rebecca Harms here.

Ska Keller, born in 1981, is an MEP and the youngest candidate in the race. She speaks six languages.

Ulrike Lunacek led the Austrian Greens’ list for the European Parliament elections in 2009. She had been an Austrian MP since 1999. She speaks for the Green Group on foreign affairs.

Jolanda Verburg is the only candidate never to have served in the European Parliament. She works for a Dutch company specialising in organsiational change.



No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

− 9 = zero