## **Human Relations and Civil Rights Awards**

## **Emily Ivanoff Ticasuk Brown Award for Human Rights**

Emily Ivanoff Ticasuk Brown (1904-1982) was an outstanding Alaskan Native educator, poet, and writer. She recorded and published her people's history, worked in developing a curriculum guide for teaching in Inupiaq Eskimo language in the elementary schools, organized the Alaska Heritage Writers Association, and worked to improve communication among her people and increase general appreciation of Native cultures by initiating a project to produce an Eskimo encyclopedia.

In mid-October 1983, the Northwest Community College in Nome, Alaska, dedicated the Learning Resource Center to Emily I. Brown. The dedication was a time for celebrating Emily's academic achievements as well as the well-known Inuit qualities of cooperation, persistence, and pragmatism which were her strengths in times of adversity. Additionally, a multicultural center is being planned on the University of Alaska campus in Fairbanks in honor of Emily Ivanoff Ticasuk Brown.

<u>Purpose</u>: The purpose of this award is to recognize distinguished Alaskan Ethnic minorities who have made outstanding contributions to education in Alaska.

<u>Criteria:</u> To be eligible for this award, one or more of the following criteria must be met. The nominee must have worked to achieve one or more of the following goals:

- 1) Preservation of the Alaskan Native culture.
- 2) Understanding and appreciation of the heritage of Alaskan Natives.
- 3) Classroom and/or community achievement.
- 4) Improved intergroup relations and understanding between Native and non-Native students through school and community programs.
- 5) Equal educational opportunity for Native students.
- 6) Development of effective multicultural learning materials.
- 7) Multi-media bilingual instructional programs.
- 8) Funding for Native educational programs.
- 9) Elimination of the misuse of federal funds set aside for Alaska Native students and Native education programs.

## **Procedures:**

- 1) Nominations must be received by the President no later than *November 1st*.
- Nomination forms will be available at all NEA-Alaska offices and from the President.
- 3) A committee composed of a representative from the Board of Directors, Human and Civil Rights Committee, and the NEA-Alaska Women's Caucus shall select the recipient of the Emily Ivanoff Ticasuk Brown Memorial Award prior to Delegate Assembly.
- 4) No more than one recipient per year shall be selected for the Emily Ivanoff Ticasuk Brown Memorial Award.
- 5) The committee may choose not to select a recipient from the nominations received.

## Award:

- 1) The recipient shall receive a plaque and an honorarium of \$200.00.
- 2) He/she shall be invited to attend Delegate Assembly. If the recipient has no plans to attend Delegate Assembly, NEA-Alaska shall pay expenses of travel and one nights' hotel accommodation unless other funds are available.
- 3) A plaque listing the names of recipients of the Emily Ivanoff Ticasuk Brown Memorial Award will be displayed in each NEA-Alaska office.
- 4) Photographs of recipients shall be displayed in each NEA-Alaska office.
- 5) The winner of the Emily Ivanoff Ticasuk Brown Memorial Award will be NEA-Alaska's nominee for the NEA Leo Reano Award.