Lithuania – country profile

2.2 million
Flag_of_ Lithuania.svg

12 MEPs (2014: 11)   EPP (4)   S&D (3)   ALDE (2)   ECR (1)   EFD (2)

Go to the list of candidates for the 2014 electionMore details on current MEPs (EP website)

Algirdas Šemeta – Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud EPP
2010-: Commissioner for Taxation and Customs Union, Audit and Anti-Fraud
2009-2010: Commissioner for Financial Programming and the Budget
2008-2009: Lithuanian Finance Minister

See our assessment of Algirdas Šemeta’s commitments and achievementsWebsite

Algirdas Šemeta

Dalia Grybauskaitė – President
Social Democratic Party (LSDP) PES + Labour (DP) ALDE + Order and Justice (TT) MELD + Electoral Action of Poles in Lithuania (LLRA/AWPL) AECR
7 votes
Next presidential election scheduled for May 2014; next parliamentary elections scheduled for 2016
Dalia Grybauskaitė

Burson-Marsteller EMEA
Square de Meeus 37, 1000 Brussels, Belgium
+32 (0)2 743 6611
Robert Mack – Chair, EMEA Public Affairs Practice

Latest posts on Lithuania

Simon Hix: Why 2014 could be the first genuinely European elections

The European Parliament elections in May 2014 may be the first genuinely ‘European’ elections. This Read more

2014: The year of Europe’s democratic (r)evolution?

2014 will be a pivotal year in the European Union’s history. The European Parliament elections Read more


Read more posts on Lithuania