ELEVATION: LAWSON ROLLINS





ELEVATION: LAWSON ROLLINS



1. Elevation	(5:25)
2. Voyager's Tale	(5:42)
3. Persian Night	(5:26)
4. Parisian Rhapsody	(5:29)
5. Santa Barbara Song	(4:35)
6. Daybreak	(4:55)
7. Shadows of Life	(5:47)
8. Himalayan Blue	(5:54)
9. The Wind at Dawn	(5:56)
10. Francisco's Dance	(5:45)
11. Slow Ascent (featuring Buckethead)	(5:11)
12. The Diamond Path	(6:54)
13. Ghosts of Alcazar (featuring Buckethead)	(6:12)
Total time:	73:16

ELEVATION marks an expressive high point for composer and guitarist Lawson Rollins. Departing from conventional song structure, Rollins crafts 13 emotionally charged soundscapes rich with moments of both intensity and spaciousness. Featuring lush instrumentation performed by an eclectic ensemble of musicians recorded in Nepal, Iran, and the United States, ELEVATION mixes Middle Eastern, Spanish, and Indian musical motifs with World Beat rhythms and the distinctively modern guitar stylings of Lawson Rollins.

Elevation

Lawson Rollins – guitars, drum programming, keyboard
Shahin Shahida – electric guitar, keyboard
Dominic Camardella – wurlitzer electric piano, hammond organ
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Cameron Stone – cello
Kirin Nepali - sarangi
Ruben Kumar Shrestha - flute
Raju Maharjan – tabla, damaru
Thomas McColl - trumpet
Buckethead – electric guitar solo
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion | Randy Tico – bass

Voyager's Tale

Lawson Rollins – guitar
Shahin Shahida – electric guitar, keyboard, vocals
Dominic Camardella – keyboard, hammond organ
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion | Randy Tico – bass
Poetry of Hafez (1325-1389). Translation by Shahin Shahida:

"Motreb Eshq ajab saz o navayee darad. Dast be har parde ke zad, Rah be jaee darad. Alam az Naleye oshaq maba da khalee."

"The Minstral of love, oh what an instrument and song he has. Each fret he touches leads you to a different place. May the Universe not turn a deaf ear on the sigh of Lovers."

Persian Night

Lawson Rollins – guitar
Shahin Shahida – keyboard
Dominic Camardella – piano
Pejman Ekhtiari – santur
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Cameron Stone – cello
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion | Randy Tico – bass
*Street sounds and santur recorded in Pejman Ekhtiari's
apartment in Esfahan, Iran by Shahin

Parisian Rhapsody

Lawson Rollins – guitar, keyboard
Shahin Shahida – electric guitar, slide and steel string guitar,
keyboard, drum programming
Dominic Camardella – keyboard, wurlitzer electric piano
Jeff Elliot – trumpet | Cameron Stone – cello
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion | Randy Tico – bass

Santa Barbara Song

Lawson Rollins – guitar
Shahin Shahida – electric guitar, keyboard, oud,
drum programing, vocals
Dominic Camardella – keyboard, wurlitzer electric piano
Jeff Elliot – trumpet, horn arrangement
Doug Webb – saxophone
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion | Randy Tico – bass

Daybreak

Lawson Rollins – guitar
Shahin Shahida – keyboard, electric guitar
Dominic Camardella – piano, hammond organ,
wurlitzer electric piano
Parsa Hassandokht – vocals
Jim Hoke – pedal steel guitar | Cameron Stone – cello
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion | Randy Tico – bass

Shadows of Life

Lawson Rollins – guitar, keyboard
Shahin Shahida – electric guitar
Dominic Camardella – piano, keyboard
Humayun Khan – harmonium, vocals
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Cameron Stone – cello
Kirin Nepali – sarangi
Ruben Kumar Shrestha – flute
Raju Maharjan – tabla
Dave Bryant – percussion | Randy Tico – bass

Himalayan Blue

Lawson Rollins – guitar, keyboard
Shahin Shahida – electric guitar, keyboard, programming
Dominic Camardella – piano
Kirin Nepali – sarangi
Ruben Kumar Shrestha – flute
Raju Maharjan – tabla
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Cameron Stone – cello
Dave Bryant – percussion | Randy Tico – bass

The Wind at Dawn

Lawson Rollins – guitar, keyboard
Shahin Shahida – electric guitars, kalimba, ukulele, vocals
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Cameron Stone – cello
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion | Randy Tico – bass

Poetry of Rahi Mo'ayyeri (1909-1968). Translation by Shahin Shahida:

"Bade Sahargaham, Dar Bi sar o Samani. Khakam o Gardam. Ashkam Va Dardam. Tow Mehry, Tow Noori. Tow Eshqy Tow Jani. Khaham tow Ra dar Bar. Benshanam o Benshinam."

"I am the wind at dawn, homeless and lost. I am particles of dust. I am tears and I am pain. You are affection. You are light. You are love and you are life. I wish to embrace you - Sit you down and sit by your side."

Francisco's Dance

Lawson Rollins – guitar
Dominic Camardella – piano
Thomas McColl – trumpet
Jeff Elliot – trumpet arrangement
Shahin Shahida – electric slide guitar
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion
Randy Tico – bass

Slow Ascent (featuring Buckethead)

Lawson Rollins – guitar, keyboard Buckethead – electric guitar Dominic Camardella – keyboard Kirin Nepali – sarangi Ruben Kumar Shrestha – flute Raju Maharjan - tabla Dave Bryant – drums, percussion Randy Tico – bass

The Diamond Path

Lawson Rollins – guitar, keyboard
Nasir Syed – sitar
Dominic Camardella – keyboard
Kirin Nepali - sarangi
Ruben Kumar Shrestha – flute
Raju Maharjan – tabla
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Cameron Stone – cello
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion
Randy Tico – bass

Ghosts of Alcazar (featuring Buckethead)

Lawson Rollins – guitar, keyboard
Buckethead – electric guitar
Dominic Camardella – keyboard
Charlie Bisharat – violin, string arrangement
Cameron Stone – cello
Dave Bryant – drums, percussion
Randy Tico – bass

All compositions written by Lawson Rollins "Francisco's Dance" contains excerpts from 'Capricho Arabe' by Francisco Tarrega (1852-1909)

"Parisian Rhapsody" was inspired by 'Gymnopedie No.1' by Eric Satie (1866-1925)

Produced by Shahin Shahida, Dominic Camardella, and Lawson Rollins

Published by Infinita Songworks [ASCAP]

Recorded, mixed, and edited by Dominic Camardella at Santa Barbara Sound Design.

Mastered by Gavin Lurssen at Lurssen Mastering, Hollywood, C.A.

Shahin Shahida recorded Pejman Ekhtiari and Parsa Hassandokht in Esfahan, Iran. Additional recording by Shahin at S.O.S Studios, Huntly, Virginia.

Associate producer William Aura recorded Kirin Nepali (sarangi) and Ruben Kumar Shrestha (flute) at Virgin Voice Studio in Kathmandu, Nepal and Raju Maharjan (tabla, madal and damaru drums) at Little Star Studio in Lalitpur, Nepal.

*Dave Bryant uses the following percussion instruments throughout Elevation: cajon, talking drum, udu, djembe, shekere, jun jun, dumbek, shakers, congas, bongos, tambourine, triangle, guiro, glass shards, chimes, coins, rainsticks, and wild iris pods.

Lawson Rollins is endorsed by La Bella Strings and uses custom guitars made by Pedro Maldonado and Lester Devoe.

Cover photo of Yarlung Tsangpo River Valley, Tibet. Courtesy Tyler Rollins Fine Art. Portrait photo by JoAnn Rollins | Designed by: Eric Jones | Ohmbox.com

Also available from Lawson Rollins on Infinita Records | www.InfinitaRecords.com "INFINITA" (catalog: INF-200) and "ESPIRITO" (catalog: INF-204)

