Welcome to Northern Brewer

– "Brew, Share, Enjoy."

Polishing Rice? 101? vs. "Just Buying It!"

Moderator: Global Moderators

<<

Pacifico

Post Fri Aug 28, 2009 2:16 am

Polishing Rice? 101? vs. "Just Buying It!"

Well, I am new to sake, read much, weighed the differences, reviewed a few recipes, ended up using Bob's recipe...thank you Bob Taylor, my first attempt is coming along nicely.
Okay, I volunterred to try it...Polishing rice...I first thought about trying 5 pounds later decided on 1/2 pound of Calrose rice for this small experiment.

1. Added it to a rock tumbler with a rubber drum, added brand new B-B's (copper) as a source of abrasion and went for an 8 hour tour.... Left the container for 8 hours, then the experiment disclosed that the rice did receive a polish which turned the rice grains to a grayish color. I would credit that color tone to the drum being a black rubber drum. There was a powder coating on the interior indicating that some of the abrasive materials (B-Bs) did cause some action, noted by the powder coating on the interior drum walls. (no water was used in the polishing)

2. Separated the B-Bs from the rice grains. Then used cold water and washed the rice to a white color using a screen strainer. The rice turned to a white/translucent color with fracture lines in each grain. The rice grain does not appear smaller than the factory packed rice after the tumbling.

3. Comparing the rice directly from the factory package, the rice was similiar in color, translucent in clarity to the experimented rice, but not with "fracture lines" as the experimented rice disclosed.

4. Comparing the factory rice, I then washed a handful of the rice directly out of the bag. Prior to washing, it was noted that the grains showed no signs of the fractures in the grain. After a brief cold water washing, and allowing the grains to air dry in the shade, the fracture lines appeared.