The Shortlist for The Hindu Best Fiction Prize Declared

And finally the shortlist is out! The most anticipated shortlist for The Hindu Best Fiction Prize, 2013 is public now.

The-Hindu-Prize-for-Best-FictionThe panel of judges has selected the five books from a vast number of entries. The books selected include The Illicit Happiness of Other People by Manu Joseph, Foreign by Sonora Jha, Roll of Honour by Amandeep Sandhu, Vanity Bagh by Anees Salim and Another Man’s Wife and Other Stories by Manjul Bajaj.

The panel comprised renowned litterateurs including Malayalam author and poet Satchidanandan, author, journalist and playwright Timeri N. Murari, writer and critic Geeta Doctor, novelist Kaveri Nambisan and poet and author Arundhati Subramaniam.

The winner will be announced on January 13, 2014 at The Hindu Lit for Life in Chennai. The Hindu Best Fiction Prize or The Hindu Literary Prize is given to the best Indian works in English and English translations. The award, which was established in 2010, is worth Rs. 5 lakh and a plaque.

Earlier, Manu Joseph (2010), Rahul Bhattacharya (2011) and Jerry Pinto (2012) have taken home this prize.

DC Books

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *