The Society of American Foresters Barrington Moore Memorial Award in Biological Science

<u>PURPOSE</u>: To recognize outstanding achievement in biological research leading to the advancement of forestry.

INFORMATION ON BARRINGTON MOORE: Barrington Moore was a prominent member of the first generation of American Foresters. From Yale University he received the degree of Bachelor of Arts (1906) and Master of Forestry (1908). In 1914 he published a comprehensive article on "Forestry in America as Reflected in the Proceedings of the Society of American Foresters," in which he not only summarized the content of each article but offered incisive comments as to its strong and weak points. These comments also reflect his growing interest in research, with particular reference to the establishment of a sound biological basis for the practice of forestry.

Moore conducted his own research in forest ecology, some of the early results of which had been published in 1917 in the *Journal of Forestry* in articles dealing with the reproduction of red spruce, balsam fir, and white pine, and with osmotic pressure as an index of habitat. But his interests extended beyond his profession and in 1919 and again in 1920 he was elected president of the Ecological Society of America. His breadth of view and his recognition of the need for cooperation among ecologists led to his selection as the first editor-in chief of *Ecology*. He continued in this role for twelve years, during which he was a frequent contributor in the form of articles, reviews, and notes.

In the Society of American Foresters, which Barrington Moore joined in 1911 and in which he served on several committees, his major contribution was as chair of the Committee on Forest Policy. This Committee was appointed in 1929 to prepare the first truly comprehensive statement of forest policy ever attempted by the Society.

AWARD CRITERIA: The Barrington Moore Memorial Award recognizes "distinguished individual research in any branch of the biological sciences that has resulted in substantial advances in forestry, regardless of age or seniority of the individual." Nominees need not be members of the Society of American Foresters. Evaluation will be based on:

- 1. Research Quality
- 2. Research Productivity
- 3. Research Innovation
- 4. Research Impact Resulting in Advances in Forestry
- 5. Overall Evidence of Distinguished Individual Research, Nationally, and Internationally.

<u>NOMINATION</u>: The nominator must submit by February 28, for the award that year, the following information on behalf of the nominee to the Forest Science and Technology Board, in care of Patricia Adadevoh at <u>adadevohp@safnet.org</u>; or National Awards, Society of American Foresters, 5400 Grosvenor Lane, Bethesda, MD 20814. A letter from the nominator should include:

• A concise statement on the manner in which the nominee's contributions to science have advanced forestry

- Expanded review of scientific accomplishments in forest biology consisting of: field(s) of specialization, contributions to science, evidence of distinguished individual research, using each of the five separate award criteria.
- Brief biographical sketch of nominee consisting of: name, address, present title or position, education, academic degrees, and major positions held. List of publications, honors and awards, membership in scientific and professional societies.
- Two letters of endorsement from peers in the nominee the nominee's field of science.
- A recent, digital headshot photograph with a minimum of 300 dpi

The award will not be made posthumously. The SAF National Office will contact the nominee only if chosen to be the award recipient. All other corresponds will be directed to the nominator. Unsuccessful candidates may be renominated by letter providing any updated material. All award criteria must still be met at the time of renomination.

FOREST SCIENCE & TECHNOLOGY BOARD: The Board is charged with overseeing all facets of SAF's Science Program. The Board is comprised of an appointed chair and six subject area representatives elected by Working Group officers and representing broad areas of forest science. The Board evaluates nominees for the Barrington Moore Memorial Award and recommends a recipient to the SAF Council. Board members will review all materials presented on behalf of the award nominee and may seek additional information if deemed necessary.

AWARD DESCRIPTION: The award consists of an inscribed plaque and a cash honorarium of \$1,000.

AWARD PRESENTATION: The award is presented at the annual awards luncheon at the SAF national convention. Complimentary convention registration is provided and up to \$500 is available to offset travel expenses and accommodations for the award recipient and guest.

PREVIOUS AWARD RECIPIENTS:

1955 Leo A. Isaac 1975 Philip R. Larson 1956 Philip C. Wakely 1976 Claud L. Brown 1957 Harold J. Lutz 1977 Donald H. Marx 1958 C. Syrach Larsen 1978 Martin H. Zimmerman 1959 Nicholas T. Mirov 1979 Alex L. Shigo 1960 Francis X. Schumacher 1980 Rexford Daubenmire 1981 1961 Reginald E. Balch Jonathan W. Wright 1962 Paul J. Kramer 1982 Charles B. Davey 1963 George H. Hepting 1983 Ronald W. Stark 1964 Samuel A. Graham 1984 Frank G. Hawksworth 1965 Lewis R. Grosenbaugh 1985 Edward Hacskaylo 1966 François Mergen 1986 Elbert L. Little, Jr 1967 Donald M. Fuquay 1987 Jerry F. Franklin 1968 Bruce J. Zobel 1988 Paul O. Rudolf 1969 George R. Staebler 1989 Richard T. Bingham 1970 Robert Zahner 1990 Burton V. Barnes 1971 George M. Jemison 1991 Harold E. Burkhart 1972 William F. Mann, Jr 1992 Thomas F. Ledig 1973 Earl L. Stone 1993 David A. Marquis 1974 Theodore T. Kozlowski 1994 J.P. (Hans) van Buijtenen

Barrington Moore Memorial Award - page 2

1995 James M. Trappe

1996 Robert E. Martin

1997 Robert C. Kellison

1998 Michael Newton

1999 David B. South

2000 Ellis B. Cowling

2001 John C. Tappeiner

2002 Kurt S. Pregitzer

2003 David H. Van Lear

2004 P.K. Ramachandran Nair

2005 James N. Long

2006 Stephen B. Horsley

2007 Scott Merkel

2008 Stephen F. Arno

2009 James P. Barnett

2010 Howard Lee Allen Jr.

2011 Steven H. Strauss

2012 Peter F. Ffollliott

2013 Thomas R. Fox