# U.S. Manufacturing Competitiveness Initiative Advisors

(As of March 13, 2013)



Co-Practice Leader Energy, Utilities and Environmental Group Leader of Boston Government Law & Strategies Group Brown Rudnick LLP

## Steven F. Ashby

Deputy Director for Science and Technology Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

#### Glenn P. Baker

Director
Engineering, Technology &
Quality Services
Deere & Company

#### Richard C. Benson

Dean
College of Engineering
Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State
University

#### William L. Chameides

Dean, and Nicholas Professor of the Environment Nicholas School of the Environment Duke University

## **Sujeet Chand**

Senior Vice President and Chief Technology Officer Rockwell Automation, Inc.

## Admiral Jay M. Cohen

Principal
The Chertoff Group

## Will Coleman

Partner Mohr Davidow Ventures

#### **Jim Davis**

Vice Provost, Information Technology and Chief Academic Technology Officer University of California, Los Angeles

#### Jeff DeCarlis

Executive Vice President SRC Holdings Corporation

## Joseph DeSimone

Chancellor's Eminent Professor of Chemistry University of North Carolina William R. Kenan, Jr. Distinguished Professor of Chemical Engineering North Carolina State University

#### Patrick V. Farrell

Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs Lehigh University

#### Joseph Flanagan

Senior Vice President Worldwide Operations and Supply Chain Applied Materials, Inc.

## Stephen P. Flavin

Vice President
Academic & Corporate Development
Worchester Polytechnic Institute

#### Jeff Gaynor

Founder American Resilience Consulting, LLC

#### Craig A. Giffi

Vice Chairman Deloitte LLP

## Andrew R. Ginger

President Industrial Snap-on Incorporated

#### Peter T. Halpin

Chief Executive Officer World Resources Company



## Council on Competitiveness

1500 K Street, NW Suite 850 Washington, D.C. 20005 T 202 682 4292 F 202 682 5150 Compete.org U.S. Manufacturing Competitiveness Initiative List of Advisors As of March 13, 2013 Page 2 of 3

#### George K. Haritos

Dean

College of Engineering Professor of Mechanical Engineering The University of Akron

#### **Richard Heist**

Executive Vice President and Chief Academic Officer Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, Daytona Beach Campus

#### Richard H. Herman

Former Chancellor University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

#### Gilbert V. Herrera

Director
Microsystems Science,
Technology & Components
Sandia National Laboratories

## Thom J. Hodgson

James T. Ryan Professor and Director of Integrated Manufacturing Systems Engineering Institute North Carolina State University

## Paul M. Hunt

Senior Associate Vice President for Research and Graduate Studies Professor, Department of Chemistry Michigan State University

#### John Irion

Chief Executive Officer and President SC Manufacturing Extension Partnership (SCMEP)

#### **Dominik Knoll**

Chief Executive Officer World Trade Center of New Orleans

# Abbott B. Lipsky, Jr.

Partner

Latham & Watkins LLP

#### Mark M. Little

Senior Vice President and Director GE Global Research General Electric Company

#### Subhash Mahajan

Distinguished Professor and Special Adviser to the Chancellor University of California, Davis

#### Ajay P. Malshe

Founder, Executive Vice President and Chief Technology Officer NanoMech Inc.

#### Patrick McFadden

Director of Government Affairs Nucor Corporation

## **Donald R. Medley**

Head of Federal Government Relations Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

#### **Eugene S. Meieran**

Former Senior Intel Fellow Intel Corporation

#### Paul R. Michel

Chief Judge (Ret.)
United States Court of Appeals for the
Federal Circuit

## Nabil Z. Nasr

Assistant Provost and Director
Golisano Institute for Sustainability and
CIMS

Rochester Institute of Technology

## **Allison Newman**

Associate Vice President External Relations and Administration Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

# Robin L. Newmark

Director

Strategic Energy Analysis Center National Renewable Energy Laboratory

#### Joseph M. Pietrantonio

Vice President and Corporate Chief Engineer Environment, Health, Safety & Quality Air Products

#### John M. Poate

Vice President
Research and Technology Transfer
Colorado School of Mines

U.S. Manufacturing Competitiveness Initiative List of Advisors As of March 13, 2013 Page 3 of 3

## Pete K. Rahn

Senior Vice President National Transportation Practice Leader HNTB Corporation

#### Aleda V. Roth

Burlington Industries Distinguished Professor of Supply Chain Management Clemson University

#### **Terrence Urbanek**

UA International Representative United Association of Plumbers and Pipefitters

## General Charles F. Wald

Director and Senior Advisor Aerospace and Defense Industry Deloitte Services LP

## **Terry Wallace**

Principal Associate Director Global Security Los Alamos National Laboratory

## Ann M. Weeks

Vice President Government Affairs Underwriters Laboratories Inc.

## Chelsea C. White, III

Schneider National Chair in Logistics and Transportation Georgia Institute of Technology

# Jeffrey J. Wilcox

Corporate Vice President Engineering Lockheed Martin Corporation

## John Zysman

Professor of Political Science and Co-Director Berkeley Roundtable on the International Economy (BRIE) University of California, Berkeley