Skip to main content
  1. News
  2. Politics
  3. Nonpartisan

WMD treaty violations and inspection refusal for biological, nuclear, chemical weapons. Iran? No, US


   We hold these Truths as Self-evident...

First, the length of a headline prevents me from including the damning introduction of treaty violation of torture, legal war, use of depleted uranium, and refusal to make antipersonnel landmines illegal. Now, to substantiate the headline’s shocking and factual lead:

President Obama rejected inspection protocol for US biological weapons, in Orwellian contradiction to his statement to strengthen the Biological Weapons Convention (BWC). This comes after increased US investment in bio-weapons during the Bush Administration with multiple reports of secret and illegal programs
 
The last biological attack, anthrax in the US in 2001, was weaponized and supplied by a US military facility. The official suspect was reported as “committing suicide.” Richard Spertzel, head of the biological-weapons section of Unscom found the FBI’s conclusion as impossible. Other analyses (here, here, here) explain concurrent news that attempted to blame Iraq as the source, and speculate this was a false flag attack for the US to invade Iraq. Ultimately, other false reasons justified that unlawful war.   
 
Ironically and hypocritically, the US filed an official report under BWC stating the US “belief” that Iran is “probably” developing biological weapons in sanctimonious language of the importance of BWC compliance.
 
The US is also in violation of the Non-Proliferation Treaty (NPT) for nuclear weapons and energy use. In the history of the treaty, the US has refused to negotiate for complete disarmament and verification per treaty terms and actively plans to use nuclear weapons, including first-strike use against “enemies” who may only become threats in the future. The US is also in violation for refusing Iran their right for nuclear energy development in every act but their empty rhetoric. The US aggresses against Iran, with official policy for nuclear weapons first-strike use having language specifically targeting Iran. This, despite all 16 US intelligence agencies in agreement there is no evidence of Iran developing nuclear weapons, and IAEA’s agreement there is no documented evidence with them either.
 
Finally, the US is in violation of the Chemical Weapons Convention (CWC). The deadline for complete elimination for these weapons passed in 2007; the US requested and received an extension until 2012. The US plans to not fulfill this treaty until 2023, and does not submit to full inspections. Only this last provision is defensible under treaty terms. 
 
The US, under the “leadership” of a Peace Prize President, also has refused to ratify the international antipersonnel landmine treaty, a weapon that kills and maims thousands of civilians and children yearly. 
 
The US uses depleted uranium (DU) in its weapons; a War Crime, according to Professor Doug Rokke, ex-director of the Pentagon's depleted uranium project who commanded the US Department of Defense’s first Gulf war depleted uranium desert clean-up. Colonel Rokke, also a former professor of environmental science at Jacksonville University concluded:
 
There is a moral point to be made here. This war was about Iraq possessing illegal weapons of mass destruction -- yet we are using weapons of mass destruction ourselves. Such double-standards are repellent.
 
Karen Parker, an attorney who presented her brief, “The illegality of DU weaponry” to the International Uranium Weapons Conference, Hamburg, Germany, October 16 - 19, 2003, concluded the medical evidence of DU as a WMD is clear, convincing, and documented from the medical evidence requested by the UN (summary here). Parker concludes the UN has failed to act upon this evidence from political pressure of the US and other developed nations’ militaries who desire DU despite its clear violation of law as WMD.
 
And the US tortures (and here); including their own citizens. The US has a history of refusing International Red Cross inspections to verify compliance of international torture law.  
 
“I knew that I could never again raise my voice against the violence of the oppressed in the ghettos without having first spoken clearly to the greatest purveyor of violence in the world today -- my own government. For the sake of those boys, for the sake of this government, for the sake of hundreds of thousands trembling under our violence, I cannot be silent.” – Martin Luther King in his speech: Beyond Vietnam: A time to break silence 
 
Analysis: The US has invaded and occupied the Middle Eastern countries of Iraq, Afghanistan, is bombing Pakistan, and aggresses toward war with Iran. These acts of war are all unlawful. The US employs Orwellian psychopathic rhetoric to threaten Iran from empty allegations of their “nuclear program” and needing to “fulfill their legal obligations” while hypocritically in murderous violation of their own from several treaties structured to protect humanity. You have to read these facts and analysis from non-corporate media sources, such as here, as corporate media will echo justification of current unlawful wars and propagandize for escalation and new wars.
 
I’ve thought about how to pierce this Orwellian political and media counter-reality. One way to do so is to imagine if the US were in Iran’s position and China acting as the US. The vicious propaganda the US employs could also be turned against us.
 
Policy response: Gandhi and Martin Luther King advocated public understanding of the facts and non-cooperation with evil. I’m among hundreds who advocate:
  1. Understand the laws of war. These were legislated after WW2 and are crystal-clear that only self-defense, in a narrow legal meaning, can justify war. This investment of your time takes less than an hour and empowers you to legally stand for ending these Wars of Aggression.
  2. Refuse and end all orders and acts associated with these unlawful wars. Those involved with US military, government, and law enforcement have an oath to protect and defend the US Constitution. Unlawful acts only move forward with sufficient cooperation and public tolerance. Stop cooperating with the most vicious crime a nation can commit: war. Stop tolerating it.
  3. Prosecute the war leaders for obvious violation of the letter and spirit of US war laws. You can only understand how these wars are specifically unlawful by investing the time to do so. Because the crimes are so broad and deep, I recommend Truth and Reconciliation (T&R) to exchange full truth and return of stolen US assets for non-prosecution. This is the most expeditious way to understand and end all unlawful and harmful acts. Those who reject T&R either by volunteering their name and/or responding when named are subject to prosecution after the window of T&R closes.
 
Below is a one-minute excerpt from the History Channel’s coverage of the US anthrax attacks explaining that the attack was “an inside job.” Following is a 10-minute interview with Eric Nadler of Dead Silence to explain the case that the government's reporting on the anthrax attack is false. 
 
Please share this article with all who can benefit. If you appreciate my work, please subscribe by clicking under the article title (it’s free). Please use my archive of work to help build a brighter future.
 
 

Comments

  • Roger 4 years ago

    Douglas Lind Rokke, PhD Vocational Education, Major, US Army Reserve (ret), former First Lieutenant and food inspector during the Gulf War in Riyadh with the 12th Medical Detachment (Preventive Medicine), later briefly attached to the scientific group led by civilian scientists from Rock Island Arsenal, is a fraud and this author thinks that he is the real thing. To learn more about the real thing, write to me at DUStory-owner@yahoogroups.com

  • Carl Herman (LA County Nonpartisan Examiner) 4 years ago

    Roger: I e-mailed you. However, if you make a public claim you should provide public information. To less sophisticated readers, your message disputing a detail to an important collection of information might distract from the context of the article.

  • Jake 4 years ago

    How the heck did Doug Rokke become a "colonel?"

    He retired from the Army Reserve as a Major and was a Captain when he worked on the DU safety training program - about which he has repeatedly made excessive claims that are not supported by the facts. Even a basic Google search turns up numerous examples of how he has exaggerated the dangers and inflated his resume.

    And Karen Parker argues that DU is an 'illegal weapon,' not that it is a WMD; in fact, her argument is that it is an illegal CONVENTIONAL weapon.

    If this is an example of the quality of your research, it's no wonder they declined to rehire you.

  • Carl Herman (LA County Nonpartisan Examiner) 4 years ago

    Jake: I’ll contact Doug Rokke and see what he has to say. And yeah, this is an example of my research; you seem to have missed the big story of this article and choose to dispute what? Something about the witness rather than the actual lethality of DU? And yes, Karen Parker doesn’t get into a “WMD” label that has no specific legal definition, but prefers to stick to DU’s failure in all measures as a lawful weapon. And this is important compared with the effects of DU because…?

    And you make no remark on the enormous implications of the rest of the article???

    In rhetoric, we classify your comment as fallacious for driving attention away from the heart of the topic, to details about one witness’ background rather the topic, and how the second witness characterizes the topic rather than the topic itself. This is a sign of trying to distract attention from the major facts, Jake, and also a sign of propaganda.

  • zendeviant 4 years ago

    Remember Bruce Ivins.

    It's a nice blog, rich with links which is nice. Societal Hypocrisy. Acknowledged cognative dissonance. A double standard.
    All the institutions we so rely on and incorporate into our idea of self, of community are obeisiant to "The Economy" not the civilizations that economy serves.

    Keep up your good work, Carl. Thanks for posting.

    Shine Bright.

  • Sadasivan 4 years ago

    Thanks for the very good article.Please continue the good work.

  • Truthurts 4 years ago

    Seems as though even the Examiner is now being attacked by anti truth (paid?) bloggers like "Jake".

    Keep up the great work, Examiner. The truth will make your internet site prosper and grow.

    Thanks for the great work.

  • Jake 4 years ago

    when I look at the portion concerning an issue about which I have extensive knowledge and find it full of errors, I tend to doubt everything else the author has written.

    And while DU is more dangerous than the Pentagon wants to admit, it is nothing like the hazard claimed by extremist critics. Much like asbestos, it is mostly a hazard when you somehow stir up the dust and inhale it; even then, medical studies have so far shown minimal risk.

  • Jason 4 years ago

    Jake, do you remember something called "Gulf War Syndrome" from the 1st gulf war in Iraq? We were told it was from our troops being exposed to the surrounding environment when we blew up chemical weapons in Iraq. The interesting thing (and facts) is that the symptoms and problems our troops came down with are identical to what happens when someone gets exposed to radiation. These troops came home and tried to "make babies" with their wives

  • Jason 4 years ago

    but they found that when their childre were born, many were coming out with no limbs. No arms and/or no legs. This is the same thing that happened to many Iraqi families after we left in 1991. I can tell you that DU is not harmful and show you pieces of paper that claim the same. My eyes and ears can actually see and hear what has really happened by simply looking at these people and listening to them tell their stories in interviews.

  • brain 4 years ago

    "Roger" cut-n-paste Dodger is a DOD troll. He's all over the net; doesn't even bother to re-write his responses.

  • Willie 4 years ago

    Just look at America's History.
    I think the plaque, any plaque is more benevolent then our American "friends".

  • Jawman 4 years ago

    Jake why not let one of us stick a spent 50cal. or 20mm up your ass for awhile and if you survive, we'll all agree with you that DU is not harmful.

  • TS Gordon 4 years ago

    I think most of us feel betrayed after supporting Obama. His 'acceptance' of the Nobel Prize involved a deal that sounds like something out of the Godfather, according to an under publicized story in Haaretz News just prior to the announcement. On his trip to Israel, they said he had agreed to prevent the IAEA from inspecting Israel's [250+] nuclear arsenal, or forcing them to comply with any of the Treaty conditions. It is far worse than simply a matter of the US/Congress condoning 'double standards.'

  • MK 4 years ago

    They may be refusing providing this information because of the scope of the violation (see sunshine-project.org). BUSH increased the amount of money put into these activities by 400 percent. Also, his family own patents... I think that the criminals in office are afraid of everybody watching Jesse Ventura's Conspiracy Theory show and figuring out that we have been the victims of attempted totalitarianistic coup.

  • Jake 4 years ago

    Jason, I've reported rather extensively on Gulf War Illnesses, including DU, and even Rokke some credibility at first - before he started inflating his resume and making claims about DU that clearly were not supported by evidence.

    Fact: Troops with embedded DU sharpnel in their bodies were (and maybe still are) 'peeing hot.'

    Fact: Troops who were exposed only to DU dust do not appear to have statistically higher incidents of health issues than other Desert Storm vets who were not exposed to DU dust.

    Fact: The description of the 1991 Desert Storm battlefield as "the most toxic battlefield in history to date" is probably accurate - and it probably was more toxic then than now, because we inadvertently released a significant portion of Iraq's chemical weapons into the atmosphere in 1991 through bombing and blowing up Khamisiyah.

    GWI is complex, and the Pentagon & VA are still dragging their feet, including with today's veterans. But DU is a minor factor at best.

  • Carl Herman (LA County Nonpartisan Examiner) 4 years ago

    Jake:
    Please provide sources for your information on DU to validate your testimony.

  • Jake 4 years ago

    Start with these, not that I expect you to believe actual scientists over rabble rousers.

    www.sandia.gov/news-center/news-releases/2005/def-nonprolif-sec/snl-dusand.pdf

    findarticles.com/p/articles/mi_m0999/is_7279_322/ai_70421561/?tag=content;col1

    www.nap.edu/catalog.php?record_id=12200

    As for Rokke, just start by checking his academic claims - his PhD is in education, with no special expertise in nuclear or radiological issues - and he was NOT a scientist on the 1991 DU clean-up - he was the escort.

    Oh, and no one has found any of the supposedly dead or sick 'team members' he claims.

  • Pawns in the Game 4 years ago

    I saw an article by an ex-CIA agent stating that they had fired almost a MILLION rounds of small caliber contaminated bullets ,early in the Iraq War.

  • Jake 4 years ago

    Complete fabrication, Pawns. The smallest caliber DU rounds ever made were a few experimental batches of .50-cal for sniprer rifles - and they were never put into the system.

    The vast majority of DU rounds come from the GAU-8 on the A-10 and the DU anti-tank rounds fired by the M1 Abrams tank.

  • Whatever Happened to America 4 years ago

    JAKE-You seem very confident in your statements.....Since when do they use 50cal as a sniper round? Do you contend that the criminalsinaction had nothing to do with the gassing of the Kurds?

  • Jake 4 years ago

    How long have we used .50-cal. for sniping? At least since Vietnam; M2s were fitted with scopes and night scopes and used single-shot for long range sniping.

    Single-shot and semi-auto .50-cal sniper rifles have been around since the early '80s; Barrett is the best known manufacturer but several others are out there as well.

    The discussion was DU, not chemical weapons - but in answer to your question, the chemical weapons Saddam used against the Kurds (and against Iranian troops) were made from precursors and equipment coming from almost every developed nation - UK, France, Germany, Austria, Soviet Union/Russia, Holland, Luxembourg, Portugal, China, Singapore - about the only country that did NOT sell Iraq either precursors or actual chemical agents was the USA.

    Not that US hands were clean; we sold lots of 'dual use' stuff like computers and machine tools, and some of the artillery shells we sold Iraq were converted to chemical agent delivery.

  • Another Man's Sombrero 4 years ago

    JAKE- Do you believe it is possible for any one individual to know all the things the FBI, NSA, DoD, Secret Service, etc., do and don't do?

  • Jake 4 years ago

    No, but neither do I choose to engage in puerile sophistry.

    I spent enough of my life around the black world to have a pretty good feel for what they are NOT doing.

    Rather than follow fanciful conspiracies, perhaps you should look into genuine abuses like the use of Blackwater/Xe/U.S. Training Center.

  • Carl Herman (LA County Nonpartisan Examiner) 4 years ago

    Jake:
    To the extent you’re working to build a brighter future, you have my respect. I, for one, am doing the best I can to reveal facts, not fancy. If you want to write a documented article on Blackwater/Xe, and I find it factual rather than fancy, I’ll post it for you.

Add a comment

Join the conversation! Log in here or create a new account if you've never registered before.

Got something to say?

Examiner.com is looking for writers, photographers, and videographers to join the fastest growing group of local insiders. If you are interested in growing your online rep apply to be an Examiner today!

Advertisement

News

  • Sochi security concerns
    The bombings in southern Russia raise safety concerns for the Sochi Olympics
    Video
    Watch Video
  • Another controversial Phil Robertson comment
    Phil Robertson encourages marrying 15-year-old girls in a newly surfaced video
    Headlines
  • Gallup's most admired
    Barack Obama and Hillary Clinton are Gallup's 'Most Admired' people of 2013
    Politics
  • McMath's life support extended
    A judge has extended Jahi McMath's life support for another week
    Top News
  • Chinese officials banned from smoking
    To encourage a national ban, Chinese officials are banned from publicly smoking
    Weird News
  • New Year's Eve
    Say goodbye to 2013 the right way, we wish you a safe and happy New Year
    New Year's Eve

User login

Log in
Sign in with your email and password. Or reset your password.
Write for us
Interested in becoming an Examiner and sharing your experience and passion? We're always looking for quality writers. Find out more about Examiner.com and apply today!