2002 Los Angeles Times Book Prize Winners

Presented at UCLA’s Royce Hall


Robert A. Caro, Master of the Senate: The Years of Lyndon Johnson, Vol. 3 (Alfred A. Knopf)

Current Interest

Judith Levine, Harmful to Minors: The Perils of Protecting Children from Sex (University of Minnesota Press)


Ian McEwan, Atonement: A Novel (Nan A. Talese/Doubleday)


Michael B. Oren, Six Days of War: June 1967 and the Making of the Modern Middle East (Oxford University Press)

Mystery / Thriller

George P. Pelecanos, Hell to Pay: A Novel (Little, Brown and Company)


Cynthia Zarin, The Watercourse: Poems (Alfred A. Knopf)

Science & Technology

Brenda Maddox, Rosalind Franklin: The Dark Lady of DNA (HarperCollins Publishers)

Young Adult Fiction

M.T. Anderson, Feed (Candlewick Press)

The Art Seidenbaum Award for First Fiction

Arthur Phillips, Prague: A Novel (Random House)

The Robert Kirsch Award

Larry McMurtry