



Statutory Transition Committee

Foreword

In accordance with
The Local Government
(Statutory Transition
Committees) Regulations
(Northern Ireland) 2013,
each Council cluster
establishes a Statutory
Transition Committee.

The Antrim and Newtownabbey transition committee has the key responsibility of driving convergence between Antrim and Newtownabbey Council and commencing preparatory work for the new Council. This committee will help to ensure that the convergence of these two councils will be as seamless as possible and service delivery is maintained and that the new authority is in a position to discharge their new functions and deliver on the vision of the new Borough.

The Statutory Transition Committee will work in conjunction with the existing Councils, transferring services and new powers in the continuation of service delivery, allocation of resources and transition to the new Council in accordance with regulations published from time to time and emerging issues.

This Corporate Plan fulfils the obligation of the Statutory Transition Committee to agree a shared short term implementation plan for the life of the new Council area.

Chairman

MA NeM

Councillor Robert Hill

Vice Chairman

Meny Res

Alderman Mervyn Rea MBE

Statutory Transition Committee Membership 2013

ANTRIM (8)		PARTY	NEWTOWNABBEY (8)		PARTY
	Cllr Thomas Burns thomas.burns@antrim.gov.uk 07803 535 094	SDLP		Ald Fraser Agnew fagnew@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07711 135 267	UUP
Q	Cllr Adrian Cochrane-Watson adrian.watson@antrim.gov.uk 07843 211 488	UUP		Ald John Blair jblair@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07788 871 189	Alliance
	Cllr Henry Cushinan henry.cushinan@antrim.gov.uk 07871 229 810	SF		Cllr Mark Cosgrove mcosgrove@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07740 063 726	UUP
	Ald Sam Dunlop sam.dunlop@antrim.gov.uk 07759 792 291	DUP		Ald Paul Girvan pgirvan@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07713 520 641	DUP
and the second	Cllr Brian Graham brian.graham@antrim.gov.uk 07719 990 104	DUP		Cllr Robert Hill rhill@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07917 543 675	DUP
	Cilr Alan Lawther alan.lawther@antrim.gov.uk 07762 822 600	Alliance		Councillor John Mann (Jackie) jmann@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07789 208 155	DUP
	Cllr Annemarie Logue annemarie.logue@antrimgov.uk 07533 353 610	SF		Cllr Victor Robinson vrobinson@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07789 208 145	DUP
	Ald Mervyn Rea mervyn.rea@antrim.gov.uk 07860 590 614 (Council's rep on RGG)	UUP		Cllr Billy Webb wjwebb@newtownabbey.gov.uk 07799 866 876	Alliance

Vision

Preparing and planning for a successful new Council.

Principles

The principles are based on the 'Nolan Principles' which are operated by the Northern Ireland Executive and are considered to be appropriate in guiding the Statutory Transition Committee in its work and conduct.

Selflessness
Objectivity Honesty
EQUALITY
Accountability
LEADERSHIP
Integrity Openness

Our Values and Way of Working as a Team

Antrim and Newtownabbey Borough Council believe that our values inform our standards of conduct and behaviour. The staff and Elected Members have core shared values which guide us in how we work together in partnership, to deliver this Corporate Plan.

Our Values and Behaviours

INNOVATION

We will strive to be at the forefront of innovation and continuously improve the services we provide.

Integrity

We will be honest, accountable, consistent, transparent and responsible in all our actions, decisions and behaviours.

Respect

We will treat our residents, visitors, stakeholders and employees with respect and provide our services in a fair and equitable way.

COMMUNICATION

We will keep our Members, customers, stakeholders and employees well informed and will consult with all stakeholders to ensure we understand their needs and expectations.

Functions of a statutory transition committee

In accordance with the regulations the Statutory Transition Committee, will perform the following functions:

- Gather information and consider and advise on matters relevant to ensuring that the new council will be able to adopt its full range of powers and functions from 1st April 2015
- Prepare a Corporate Plan, Business Plan and Budget for the successful operation of the Statutory Transition Committee
- Prepare a draft Corporate Plan, Business Plan and Budget for the Shadow Council.
- Arrange the first meeting of the Shadow Council.
- Appoint a Chief Executive.

Regional Programme Implementation Plan

Under the Regional Programme Implementation Plan for local government reform also sets out a number of tasks which fall under the responsibility of the Committee. These tasks are as follows:

AREA	TASKS	DATE TO BE COMPLETED
Local Governance	Develop Corporate and Business Plan for STC	September 2013
	 Develop Corporate and Business Plan for the Shadow Council 	March 2014
	 Develop Standing Orders for agreement by new Council 	April 2014
	 Develop Governance Arrangements for agreement by new Council 	April 2014
	 Arrange First Meeting of the Shadow Council 	June 2014

Regional Programme Implementation Plan (continued)

AREA	TASKS	DATE TO BE COMPLETED
Local Finance	Agree budget for STC period	September 2013
	Secure resources for STC period	September 2013
	Prepare budget for Shadow period	January 2014
	 Establish financial systems for adoption by new Council 	March 2014
	Secure resources for Shadow period	April 2014
	 Identify all assets and liabilities 	April 2014
	 Tender for new contracts for new Council as appropriate 	May 2014

AREA	TASKS	DATE TO BE COMPLETED
Service Delivery	Gather data to underpin community plan	April 2014
	 Collate information on existing service delivery arrangements 	April 2014
Local Human Resources	 Appoint of Chief Executive 	December 2013
and Capacity	 Prepare Draft Equality Schemes etc. for agreement of new Council 	April 2014
	 Develop and commence implementation of local capacity building programme for staff and Members 	April 2014
Transition and Convergence:	Agree and implement IT platform for new Council	April 2014
Local IT	 Agree IT systems for service delivery (including telephony) 	April 2014

Schedule of Meetings

DATE	LOCATION	TIME
25 July 2013	Newtownabbey	4.00pm
29 August 2013	Antrim	2.00pm
26 September 2013	Newtownabbey	4.30pm
24 October 2013	Antrim	4.00pm
28 November 2013	Newtownabbey	4.30pm
19 December 2013 ¹	Antrim	4.00pm
23 January 2014	Newtownabbey	4.30pm
27 February 2014	Antrim	4.00pm
27 March 2014	Newtownabbey	4.30pm
24 April 2014	Antrim	4.00pm
15 May 2014 ²	Newtownabbey	4.30pm
19 June 2014	Antrim	4.00pm

¹Moved forward due to Christmas

²Moved forward due to Election

Budget

The Statutory Transition Committee has agreed a budget from the two Councils to allow it to fulfil its obligations in terms of preparing for the Shadow Council and the new Council.

Winding up of statutory transition committees

Under Regulation 21 of the Local Government (STC) Regulations (NI) 2013 the Statutory Transition Committee will cease to exist 28 days after the local government elections in 2014, which the Environment Minister has been working to ensure are held on 22 May 2014. The Statutory Transition Committee is therefore expected to cease to exist on 19 June 2014.





Antrim Borough Council Antrim Civic Centre 50 Stiles Way Antrim BT41 2UB

T 028 9446 3113 F 028 9448 1324

www.antrim gov.uk

Newtownabbey Borough Council Mossley Mill Newtownabbey BT36 5QA

T 028 9034 0000 F 028 9034 0200

www.newtownabbey gov.uk