Calendar Services Feedback Site Map Help Home Digital Collection Children & Education Hermitage History Exhibitions Collection Highlights Information



19th Meeting of the International Consultative Council

On 30-31 August 2013 the 19th Meeting for the International Consultative Council of the State Hermitage Museum took place.

As is tradition the meeting was dedicated to actual issues for the development of the State Hermitage Museum. Working meetings took place in the Council Hall. As always, subjects for discussion were presented by State Hermitage Museum General Director Mikhail Piotrovsky. The main subject for discussion at the Consultative Council was the framework for the development of the State Hermitage Museum for the next 10 years (Framework for the development programme of the Grand Hermitage 2012/2022). Furthermore, as part of the discussions, two architectural projects by Remment Koolhaas were examined (The Smaller Hermitage and The Library at Staraya Derevnya). The State Hermitage Museum Chief Architect V.P.Lukin presented a report and Zhanna Bystrikh, a representative from Remment Koolhaas architectural office, Netherlands, also made a presentation.

Members of the International Consultative Council participated in an official ceremony dedicated to the 200th anniversary of the exploits of the Russian Guard at the Battle of Kulm, held in the Armoury Hall of the Winter Palace; visited the new temporary exhibitions; and the newly restored halls of the Eastern Wing of the General Staff building.

As part of the cultural programme on 31 August, members of the International Consultative Council of the State Hermitage Museum visited Novaya Gollandiya, and examined the new stage of the Mariinsky Theatre.

The following individuals participated in the Consultative Council:

Neil MacGregor, Chairman of the Consultative Council, Director of the British Museum, London

Michael Brand, Director, Art Gallery Of New South Wales, Sydney

Mounir Bouchenak, Former Deputy Director UNESCO For Culture

Henk van Os, Former director, Rijksmuseum, Amsterdam

Michael Conforti, Director, Institute of Fine Arts Sterling and Francine Clark, Williamstown, MA

Anna Maria Petrioli Tofani, Former director of the Uffizi Gallery, Florence

Alfred Pacquemen, Director of the Museum of Modern Art the Centre Georges Pompidou, Paris

Hermann Parzinger, President of the Prussian Cultural Heritage, Berlin

Gabriele Finaldi, Deputy Director of the Prado Museum, Madrid

Max Hollein, Director, Sta"del Museum, Frankfurt

Mikhail Piotrovsky, Director, State Hermitage Museum, Saint-Petersburg

Stuart Gibson, Secretary, Consultative Council, USA

Svetlana Filippova, Secretary, Consultative Council, State Hermitage Museum, Saint-Petersburg



Neil MacGregor

Mikhail Piotrovsky

Michael Brand

Mounir Bouchenak

Henk van Os

Michael Conforti

Anna Maria Petrioli Tofani

Alfred Pacquemen

Hermann Parzinger

Gabriele Finaldi


Copyright © 2011 State Hermitage Museum
All rights reserved. Image Usage Policy.
About the Site