

European Banking Industry Committee

European Banking Federation (EBF) • European Savings Banks Group (ESBG) • European Association of Cooperative Banks (EACB) European Mortgage Federation (EMF) • European Federation of Building Societies (EFBS)

European Federation of Finance House Associations (Eurofinas)/European Federation of Leasing Company Associations (Leaseurope)

European Association of Public Banks (EAPB)

11 February 2011

Press Release

New Chair for European Banking Industry Committee

The European Banking Industry Committee (EBIC), which brings together the main European financial sector organisations, has elected a new Chairperson, Ms Piia-Noora Kauppi.

Ms Kauppi is the Managing Director of the Federation of Finnish Financial Services and a member of the European Banking Federation (EBF) Executive Committee. She will succeed Mr. Gerhard Hofmann (Board member of the European Association of Co-operative Banks (EACB)/ Board member of the National Association of German Co-operative banks (BVR)) who will become Vice-Chair of EBIC. The European Savings Banks Group (ESBG) will undertake the secretariat duties.

Founded in 2004, EBIC is the common voice of the EU financial sector. EBIC maintains an open and fruitful dialogue with EU institutions and international bodies and provides expertise and input to the EU financial services legislative process.

EBIC has produced a number of key positions papers which may be viewed at http://www.eubic.org. For further information on EBIC, please contact the EBIC member organisations.



Contact Persons

Organisation

Contact Person

Address

Organisation

Contact Person

Address

EUROPEAN BANKING FEDERATION

Guido RAVOET

Secretary General of the European Banking Federation

Rue Montoyer 10 B-1000 Bruxelles **2**: 02/508 37 11 g.ravoet@ebf-fbe.eu s.debrouwer@ebf-fbe.eu a.steinmetz@ebf-fbe.eu

BANKS GROUP

Chris De NOOSE Managing Director European Savings

Banks Group

Rue Marie-Thérèse 11 B-1000 Bruxelles

chris.denoose@savings-banks.eu astrid.hagenah@savings-banks.eu Ciara.daly@savings-banks.eu



COOPERATIVE BANKS GROUPEMENT EUROPEEN DES BANQUES COOPERATIVES EUROPÄISCHE VEREINIGUNG GENOSSENSCHAFTSBANKEN



Hervé GUIDER General Manager of the European Association of

≘: 02/230 11 24 h.guider@eurocoopbanks.co op v.heegemann@eurocoopban ks.coop j.cariou@eurocoopbanks.coo

Rue de l'Industrie 26-38

B-1040 Brussels

<u>p</u>



Annik LAMBERT Secretary General of the European Mortgage Federation

Avenue de Cortenbergh 71 B-1000 Bruxelles **2**: 02/285 40 41 alambert@hypo.org jjohnson@hypo.org



European Federation of Building Societies Fédération Européenne d'Epargne et de Crédit pour le Logement Furopäische Bausparkassenvereinigung

Andreas ZEHNDER

Managing Director of the European Federation of **Building Societies**

Rue Jacques de Lalaing 28 B - 1040 Bruxelles **:** 02/231 03 71 Zehnder@vdpb.de; nadine.dauer@efbsbausparkassen.org



Tanguy van de WERVE Secretary General of EUROFINAS/ LEASEUROPE

87 Boulevard Louis Schmidt B - 1040 Bruxelles **☎**: 02 /778 05 60 :

t.vandewerve@leaseurope.org a.giraud@eurofinas.org



Henning **SCHOPPMANN** Secretary General of European Association of Public Banks

Avenue de la Joyeuse Entrée 1-5 B-1040 Bruxelles **≅**: 02/286 90 68 Henning.Schoppmann@ea pb.eu; Julien.Ernoult@eapb.eu

Piia-Noora KAUPPI

Born on 7 January 1975 in Oulu, Finland.

Married to Mr. Jussi Antero Järvinen with three children, born in 2004, 2005 and 2008.

EDUCATION

Matriculation, Madetoja Music High School 1994

Master of Laws, Helsinki University 1997.

Studies of Economics at Helsinki School of Business and Administration (Aalto University) 1998 - Executive Education course on Global Leadership at Harvard Kennedy School 2009

PROFESSIONAL EXPERIENCE

Managing Director, Federation of Finnish Financial Services 2009 -

Member of the European Parliament 1999 – 2008

Legal advisor for the Parliamentary Group of the National Coalition Party Kokoomus 1997 - 1999 Secretary for the Working Groups for the Legal Affairs Committee and the Constitutional Affairs Committee 1995 - 1997

Legal Assistant at Borenius & Kemppinen Attorneys at Law 1996 - 1997

Training Programme Manager, Pykälä Association and the Lawyers' Association of Northern Ostrobothnia Kriminaaliklubi 1995 - 1996

Secretary at the Office of Secretary General, Democrat Youth Community of Europe (DEMYC) 1994 - 1995

PARLIAMENTARY WORK IN THE EUROPEAN PARLIAMENT

Head of the Finnish Delegation in the EPP-ED Group 2004 – 2008

Treasurer of the Finnish Delegation in the EPP-ED Group 2000 - 2004

Member of the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee 1999 - 2008

Vice-coordinator in the Economic and Monetary Affairs Committee 2004 – 2008

Member of the Legal Affairs Committee 2004 – 2008

Member of the Committee on Women's Rights and Gender Equality 2004 – 2008

Member of the Legal Affairs and Internal Market Committee 2002 – 2004

Member of the Employment and Social Affairs Committee 1999 - 2001

Member of the Convention on the Future of the European Union 2002 - 2003

Member of the Delegation for relations with the People's Republic of China 2004 – 2008

Substitute Member of the Delegation for Relations with the United States 2004 – 2007

EPFSF - European Parliament Financial Services Forum, President 2004 - 2006, Vice-President 2007

European Internet Foundation, Member of the Board 2005 – 2008

CURRENT POSITIONS OF RESPONSIBILITY

Member of the Executive Committee at European Banking Federation 2009 – Member of the Executive Committee at CEA (Insurers of Europe) 2009 – Member of the Executive Committee at Confederation of Finnish Industries EK 2009 – Vice-President of the Financial Affairs Working Group of Business Europe 2010 –

Member of the Board, EKY, Association for European Culture 2007 – Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA Business Fellow 2008 – World Economic Forum Young Global Leader 2005 –

FORMER POSITIONS OF RESPONSIBILITY

Member of the Regional Board of the Northern Ostrobotnia 2001-2008

Member of the City Board of Oulu 1998 - 1999 Member of the City Council of Oulu 1997 - 2000

Vice-President of the Women's League of the National Coalition Party Kokoomus 2004 - 2006 Vice-President of the National Coalition Party in Northern Ostrobotnia 1998 - 2006 Vice-President of the National Youth League of the National Coalition Party Kokoomus 1996-97

Finnish Business and Policy Forum EVA EU Fellow 2006 Vice-President, Eurooppalainen Oulunseutu ry 1998 - 2000

Member of the International Affairs Board of Allianssi, the National Organisation of Youth NGO's 1996-1997

Student representative in the Board of Department of Public Law in Helsinki University 1995-1997 Secretary for the Ostrobotnia District of the National Senior High School Students Association 1992 – 1993