## 2000 Nobel Prize Winner in Medicine Opposes Fluoridation



"I would advise against fluoridation," says Dr. Arvid Carlsson of Sweden, co-winner of the Nobel Prize for medicine.

Dr. Carlsson was awarded the Nobel Prize in 2000 for his discovery of how brain cells transmit signals to each other, laying the groundwork for improved treatments for neurological and psychiatric disorders.

He says fluoridation will harm some people and is not considered a proper health-care measure in his country.

"Fluoridation of water supplies would also treat people who may not benefit from the treatment.

Side-effects cannot be excluded and, thus, some people might only have negative effects without any benefit."

"In Sweden, water fluoridation, to my knowledge, is no longer advocated by anybody. In Sweden, the emphasis nowadays is to keep the environment as clean as possible with regard to pharmacologically active and, thus, potentially toxic substances."

## Awards:

- 1947 Magnus Blix' Prize, University of Lund, Sweden
- 1970 First Annual James Parkinson Lecture and Award, New York
- 1970 Pehr Dubb's Gold Medal, The Medical Society of Gothenburg
- 1974 Anders Jahre's Medical Prize, University of Olso, Norway
- 1975 Stanley R Dean Lecture and Award, Phoenix, Arizona
- 1975 Anna-Monika Stiftung, 1st Prize, for research on antidepressants and neuroleptics
- 1979 Wolf Prize in Medicine, Jersualem, (together with RW Sperry and O Hornykiewicz)
- 1981 Björkénska Priset, University of Uppsala, Sweden
- 1982 Gairdner Foundation Award, Toronto, Canada
- 1985 Hilda and Alfred Eriksson's Prize, The Royal Swedish Academy of Science
- 1989 Bristol-Myers Award for Distinguished Achievement in Neuroscience Research, New York
- 1990 The Paul Hoch Prize, American Psychopathological Assoc., New York
- 1990 The Fred Springer Award, American Parkinson Disease Assoc., Miami, FL
- 1991 William K Warren Schizophrenia Research Award, Tucson, AZ
- 1992 The Open Mind Award in Psychiatry, Janssen Research Foundation, Paris
- 1992 The Julius Axelrod Medal, The Cathecholamine Club, Anaheim, CA
- 1994 The Japan Prize, in Psychology and Psychiatry,
- 1995 The Lieber Prize for research in schizophrenia, USA
- 1995 The Research Prize of the Lundbeck Foundation, Roskilde, Denmark
- 1995 The Robert J and Claire Pasarow Foundation Award for Neuropsychiatric Research
- 1996 Gold Medal and Honorary Diploma, The Swedish Parkinson Association
- 1997 Kraepelin-Medaillie in Gold, Max-Planck Institut für Psychiatrie, München
- 1998 Gold Medal, Society of Biological Psychiatry, Toronto, Canada
- 1999 Gold Medal, Distinguished Lecture and Award, University of Bari, Italy
- 1999 Antonio Feltrinelli International Award, Accademia dei Lincei, Rome