Museums
CALIFORNIA SURF MUSEUM
Collection of surfing artifacts and memorabilia, plus exhibits about surfing legends. Rare surfing collectibles in museum gift shop. Daily 10 a.m.–4 p.m., Th 10 a.m.-8 p.m. Adults $5; seniors/military/students $3; kids under 12 free. 312 Pier View Way, Oceanside, 760.721.6876.
CENTRO CULTURAL DE LA RAZA
Celebrates Mexican, Chicano and indigenous art and culture with vibrant murals, art exhibits and performances. Gallery open Tu–Su noon–4 p.m. Suggested donation $5. 2125 Park Blvd., Balboa Park, 619.235.6135.
CORONADO MUSEUM OF HISTORY AND ART
Galleries of historical memorabilia reveal a rich past. 10 a.m.-5 p.m. (daily). Suggested donation $2–4.
1100 Orange Ave., Coronado, 619.435.7242.
MARSTON HOUSE
Craftsman-style house designed by renowned architects William Hebbard and Irving Gill in 1905. Period furnishings, pottery and an Indian basketry collection. Open for tours F-M 10 a.m.–5 p.m. Adults $10; kids 6-12 $4; kids under 5 free. 3525 Seventh Ave., Balboa Park, 619.297.9327.
MARITIME MUSEUM
Visit the 1863 barque Star of India(world’s oldest active ship), the 1898 steam ferryboat Berkeley, the 1904 steam yacht Medea, a Soviet-era submarine and the HMS Surprise, the Royal Navy frigate featured in the film Master and Commander. Daily 9 a.m.–9 p.m. $15; seniors/military/teens $11; kids 6-12 $8; children 5 and under free. The schooner Californianalso offers half-day sailing trips ($31-42). 1492 N. Harbor Drive, Embarcadero, 619.234.9153.
MINGEI INTERNATIONAL MUSEUM
Exhibits celebrate folk art. Tu–Su 10 a.m.–4 p.m. $5–8; children 5 and under free. 1439 El Prado, Balboa Park, 619.239.0003.
MISSION SAN DIEGO DE ALCALÁ
The first of 21 missions stretching north along the California coast, this one was established by Junípero Serra in 1769 on Presidio Hill and moved to this site in 1774. Adults $3; kids/seniors $2. 10818 San Diego Mission Road, Mission Valley, 619.281.8449.
MUSEUM OF CONTEMPORARY ART SAN DIEGO
Museum features post-1950s art spanning many genres and media. Call for hours of operation at both locations. $5-10 admission valid for seven days; ages 25 and under free; free third Th 5-7 p.m. 700 Prospect St., La Jolla, 1001 and 1100 Kettner Blvd., downtown, 858.454.3541. mcasd.org
MUSEUM OF MAKING MUSIC 
Vintage instruments, interactive audio and visual exhibits offer dynamic look into the history of American popular music. Tu–Su 10 a.m.–5 p.m. $5–8; kids 5 and under free. 5790 Armada Drive, Carlsbad, 760.438.5996. museumofmakingmusic.org
MUSEUM OF PHOTOGRAPHIC ARTS
Collection includes contemporary photography, social documentary and photojournalism. Regularly rotating exhibits. Film screenings, too. Tu-Su 10 a.m.–5 p.m. $5–8; kids 12 and under free. Free second Tu. 1649 El Prado, Balboa Park, 619.238.7559.
NEW CHILDREN’S MUSEUM
Downtown’s stunning, super-mod museum, designed just for kids, encourages visitors to touch and interact with exhibits. M-Sa 10 a.m.–4 p.m. (Th till 6 p.m.; closed W); Su noon-4 p.m. $10; seniors/military $5; children under 1 free. Free second Su. 200 W. Island Ave., downtown, 619.233.8792. thinkplaycreate.org
OCEANSIDE MUSEUM OF ART
Regional and international artists showcased in exhibits ranging from landscape painting to studio furniture, neon sculpture, art quilts and architectural glass. Tu–Sa 10 a.m.–4 p.m., Su 1-4 p.m. $5–8 (students and military are free). 704 Pier View Way, Oceanside, 760.435.3720.
REUBEN H. FLEET SCIENCE CENTER
Interactive science galleries invite visitors to explore the wonders of astronomy, the earth and physics. Giant-screen films run in the IMAX Dome Theater. M-Th 10 a.m.–5 p.m. (open later during holiday breaks); F-Sa till 8 p.m.; Su till 6 p.m. $9.75-11.75 (IMAX films extra); kids 2 and under free. 1875 El Prado, Balboa Park, 619.238.1233. rhfleet.org
SAN DIEGO AIR AND SPACE MUSEUM
Hot-air balloons, jets and historic aircraft. Daily 10 a.m.–5:30 p.m. $7-17.50 (Ripley’s Believe It or Not! exhibition admission is $12-24); kids 2 and under free. 2001 Pan American Plaza, Balboa Park, 619.234.8291. sandiegoairandspace.org
SAN DIEGO HALL OF CHAMPIONS
Three levels and 68,000 square feet of sports exhibits and interactive displays form the largest multi-sports museum in the U.S. Daily 10 a.m.–4:30 p.m. $6; seniors/military $4; kids 7-17 $3; kids 2 and under free. 2131 Pan American Plaza, Balboa Park, 619.234.2544.
SAN DIEGO MUSEUM OF ART
Diverse collection includes Italian Renaissance and Spanish Baroque works, 19th–20th-century American and European paintings and sculptures, and a vast Asian collection. M–Sa 10 a.m–5 p.m. (closed W), Su noon-5 p.m. $4.50–12; kids 6 and under free. 1450 El Prado, Balboa Park, 619.232.7931.
SAN DIEGO MUSEUM OF MAN
Go on a journey of the human experience highlighting our physical and cultural development through permanent and changing exhibits. Daily 10 a.m.–4:30 p.m.; $5–12.50; children 2 and under free. 1350 El Prado, Balboa Park, 619.239.2001.
museumofman.org
SAN DIEGO NATURAL HISTORY MUSEUM
Dinosaur displays, giant-screen films, photography exhibitions and more. Daily 10 a.m.-5 p.m. $11–17; children 2 and under free; free for active military first Tu. 1788 El Prado, Balboa Park, 619.232.3821.
sdnhm.org
STUART COLLECTION OF SCULPTURE
Scattered across the UCSD campus, outdoor art collection includes talking and singing trees, a Sun God and more. Free.Gilman and La Jolla Village drives, La Jolla, 858.534.2230.
USS MIDWAY
The world’s largest floating naval-aviation museum has restored airplanes on the flight deck and interactive exhibits inside. Daily 10 a.m.–5 p.m. $10–18; military/kids 5 and under free. 910 N. Harbor Drive, Embarcadero, 619.544.9600.
