Read the Digital by Default Service Standard

From April 2014, digital services from the government must meet the new Digital by Default Service Standard.
Read the standard »

Think differently about digital delivery

Discover what it means to be part of an agile, user-focused and multidisciplinary team, delivering digital services in government.

Start building digital by default services

Making a service

Learn about the different phases of service design and get guidance for the phase you're in now.

  • Discovery

    A short phase, in which you start researching the needs of your service’s users, find out what you should be measuring, and explore technological or policy-related constraints.

    Learn about the discovery phase

  • Alpha

    A short phase in which you prototype solutions for your users needs. You’ll be testing with a small group of users or stakeholders, and getting early feedback about the design of the service.

    Learn about the alpha phase

  • Beta

    You’re developing against the demands of a live environment, understanding how to build and scale while meeting user needs. You’ll also be releasing a version to test in public.

    Learn about the beta phase

  • Live

    The work doesn’t stop once your service is live. You’ll be iteratively improving your service, reacting to new needs and demands, and meeting targets set during its development.

    Learn about the live phase

  • Retirement

    Even the best services may eventually reach retirement. That should be treated with the same care as went into the building and maintaining of that service.

    Learn about the retirement phase