ICMR - ACM International Conference on Multimedia Retrieval


ICMR Steering Committee Homepage


We are accepting proposals to organize ICMR 2016 and ICMR 2017:

Call for Organizers ICMR 2016 (North/South America)

Call for Organizers ICMR 2017 (Europe)



ACM ICMR is the premier scientific conference for multimedia retrieval worldwide. Its mission is to illuminate the state of the art in multimedia retrieval by bringing together researchers and practitioners in the field of multimedia retrieval. It is essential to ensure that the conference includes sessions for presenting high-quality research papers and for sharing practitioner experience. Sessions discussing the current state of the art, directions for the future, large-scale media evaluations, and demonstrations of current technology are encouraged.  ICMR is intended to be international and in general will not be held on the same continent two consecutive years in a row.  The main objectives of ICMR are the following:

1. To provide a setting for the presentation and discussion of high-quality original research papers in all aspects of multimedia retrieval.

2. To provide a forum for the exchange of ideas between researchers and practitioners in the field, ideally by maintaining a separate "industry" track.

3. To provide a range of complementary events such as panel sessions, exhibitions, workshops, and large-scale media evaluations.

4. To provide suitable facilities for informal networking and exchange of ideas between delegates.

Past ICMR:

ICMR 2011, April 17-20, Trento, Italy, General Chairs: Alberto del Bimbo and Francesco G.B. De Natale
ICMR 2012, June 5-8, Hong Kong, General Chairs: Horace Ip and Yong Rui
ICMR 2013, April, Dallas, USA, General Chairs: Ramesh Jain and B. Prabhakaran

ICMR 2014, April, Glasgow, Scotland, General Chairs: Joemon Jose and Keith van Rijsbergen


ACM ICMR Steering Committee Bylaws (Rules & Principles)

Current Steering Committee
Michael S. Lew, Leiden University, The Netherlands (2009-2014)
Regular Members

Alberto del Bimbo, University of Florence, Italy (2011-2015)
Nozha Boujemaa, INRIA, France (2009-2014)

Tat-Seng Chua, National University of Singapore, Singapore (2009-2014)
Ling Guan, Ryerson University, Canada (2009-2014)
Thomas S. Huang, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA (2009-2014)
Horace Ip, City University of Hong Kong, HK (2012-2016)
Ramesh Jain, UC-Irvine, USA (2013-2017)
Joemon Jose, University of Glasgow (2014-2018)
Yiannis Kompatsiaris, CERTH/ITI, Greece (2010-2014)
Jiebo Luo, Kodak Research, USA (2009-2014)
Stephane Marchand-Maillet, University of Geneva, Switzerland (2010-2014)
Francesco G.B. De Natale, University of Trento, Italy, (2011-2015)

Prabhakaran , University of  Texas at Dallas (2013-2017)
Keith van Rijsbergen, University of  Cambridge (2014-2018)
Yong Rui, Microsoft Research, USA (2009-2014, 2012-2016)
Nicu Sebe, University of Trento, Italy (2009-2014)
Alan Smeaton, Dublin City University, Ireland (2009-2014)
Qi Tian, University of Texas at San Antonio, USA (2009-2014)
James Wang, Pennsylvania State University, USA (2009-2014)
Marcel Worring, University of Amsterdam, The Netherlands (2009-2014)
Hong-Jiang Zhang, Microsoft Research Asia, China (2009-2014)

SIGMM Special Member

Shih-Fu Chang, Columbia University, USA

Advisory Committee

[members will be added in 2015]