### The John W. Hill Award

Presented by Hill & Knowlton, The John W. Hill Award is the New York Chapter's most prestigious individual award. Named for the founder of Hill & Knowlton, one of the world's preeminent public relations firms, it is presented for leadership in the practice of public relations, demonstration of the highest standards of ethical conduct, and service to the public. Established in 1976 and conferred annually since 1977, the award is a reminder of Hill's belief that experience, quality, integrity and judgment are the key elements of public relations practice. Each year's candidates must meet the following criteria:

- Leadership in the development of the practice of public relations other than through service to PRSA
- Demonstration of the highest standards of ethical conduct
- Service to the public beyond the scope of the nominee's regular public relations duties

Nominees may not be the current PRSA-NY president or a recipient within the past 10 years of the PRSA Gold Anvil or similar award.

#### **Previous Award Recipients**

1977 George Hammond 1978 Elaine Pitts 1979 Lee Bieringer 1980 Chester Berger 1981 Sondra K. Gorney 1982 John H. Paluszek 1983 Lloyd N. Newman 1984 Richard Weiner 1985 Sid Gross 1986 Barbara W. Hunter 1987 Bert Hochman 1988 Charlotte Klein 1989 Joel Strasser 1990 Phyllis H. Berlowe 1991 John Sattler 1992 Jerry Danzig 1993 Harold Burson

1994 Denny Griswold 1995 David M. Bicofsky 1996 P. Michael McDermott 1997 David Drobis 1998 Jeannette Paladino 1999 Helen I. Ostrowski 2000 Philip G. Ryan 2001 Joan Capelin 2002 Art Stevens 2003 Thomas Hoog 2004 Richard Edelman 2005 Howard Rubenstein 2006 David Finn 2007 Kenneth D. Makovsky 2008 James E. Murphy, APR 2009 Valerie Di Maria

Click here to read about John Hill.

# **Philip Dorf Award**

Instituted in 1995 this award recognizes PRSA-NY members who have an outstanding record of mentoring. It honors the memory of Philip Dorf who during his long and distinguished career was an inspiration and mentor to countless young professionals. To be considered, each year's candidates must meet the following criteria:

- Leadership in guiding and inspiring the careers of entry-level and young PR professionals.
- Perpetuating the highest standards of the profession in a selfless role as a mentor.

Nominees may not be the current PRSA-NY president or a recipient within the past 10 years of the PRSA Gold Anvil or similar award.

#### **Previous Award Recipients**

1995 Terrie Williams 1996 Anthony J. Russo 1997 Art Stevens 1998 Robert M. Weintraub 1999 Lynn Appelbaum 2000 Edward J. Menninger 2001 Michael Greece 2002 Don Bates 2003 Helio Fred Garcia 2004 Alex Stanton 2005 Bob Stone 2006 John L. Paluszek 2007 Emmanuel Tchividjian 2008 Roberta Elins 2009 William F. Doescher

Click here to read about Philip Dorf.

## **President's Award**

Established in 2003, this award honors contributions to PRSA-NY. To be considered, each year's candidates must meet the following criteria:

- Past or current membership in PRSA-NY
- Adherence to the highest standards of ethical conduct
- Nomination by a PRSA member

#### **Previous Award Recipients**

2003 Don Bates 2004 Christopher Guidette 2005 Liz Beck 2006 Linda Krebs 2007 Jeanne Salvatore 2008 Michael Rinaldo 2009 Sandra Fathi