Eleven Big Ten Players Earn NFHCA All-America Honors

Penn State's senior Laura Gebhart is a four-time NFHCA All-American

Penn State's senior Laura Gebhart is a four-time NFHCA All-American
Dec. 1, 2014

NFHCA All-American Teams Get Acrobat Reader

Eleven Big Ten field hockey players highlighted the National Field Hockey Coaches Association All-American Teams Monday.

Maryland had three players earn the national honor with senior Maxine Fluharty and junior Sarah Sprink named to the first team, and senior Katie Gerzebek on the third team. Fluharty and Sprink earn the NFHCA All-America honor for the second consecutive season, as each was named to the third team last year. Gerzabek earns her first career honor.

Iowa and Penn State each had two players honored. For the Hawkeyes, junior Natalie Cafone was a first-team honoree, while sophomore Stephanie Norlander was named to the second team. Cafone and Norlander mark the 86th and 87th national All-Americans in program history, only four programs nationally have produced more. It is the second All-America honor for Cafone and first for Norlander.

The Nittany Lions placed senior Laura Gebhart on the first team list, while classmate Taylor Herold was named to the second team. The 2014 season marks the fifth-straight season Penn State has had at least two players selected to All-America teams. Gebhart is now a four-time NFHCA All-American, receiving first team accolades for the first time in her career, while Herold earns her first career honor.

Indiana’s Audra Heilman, Michigan’s Ainsley McCallister, Michigan State’s Abby Barker and Northwestern’s Lisa McCarthy were all named to the NFHCA All-America Second Team.

The Hoosiers’ Heilman becomes only the second player in program history to earn All-American honors twice in a career. The Spartans’ Barker is a repeat honoree, having been named to the second team in 2012 and the third team in 2013. The Wolverines’ McCallister and Wildcats’ McCarthy each earn their first All-American honor.

The complete list of NFHCA All-American Teams can be found in the attached PDF.