

# The London Gazette

### Published by Authority

Registered as a Newspaper

### FRIDAY, 18TH APRIL 1980

## State Intelligence

### HONOURS AND AWARDS

CENTRAL CHANCERY OF THE ORDERS OF KNIGHTHOOD

St. James's Palace, London S.W.1 18th April 1980

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 12th February 1980, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Professor Sir James William Longman Beament. Sir Charles William Bell, C.B.E. Professor Sir Max Beloff.

Froiessor Sir Max BELOFF.
Sir Austin Ernest Bide.
Sir William Gibson Haig Clark, M.P.
Sir Robert James Clayton, C.B.E.
Sir Kenneth George Corfield.
Sir Colin Rex Davis, C.B.E.
Sir John Rogers Ellis, M.B.E.
Sir Nigel Gordon Foulkes.

Sir John Drury GRUGEON.

Sir Philip Douglas KNIGHTS, C.B.E., Q.P.M., Chief Constable, West Midlands Police.

Sir Leslie Francis KNIPE, M.B.E.

The Queen was pleased on Tuesday, 19th February 1980, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Sir Ronald McMillan Bell, Q.C., M.P. Sir John Donald Brown Junor. Sir Ronald Graeme Millar. Sir Richard O'Brien, D.S.O., M.C. Sir Stanley Paul Osmond, C.B.

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 11th March 1980, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the under-mentioned:

The Right Honourable Sir Rodney Graham PAGE,

M.B.E., M.P.
Sir David Elmer Woodbine Parish, C.B.E. Professor Sir Michael Moissey Postan.

The Queen was pleased on Tuesday, 4th March 1980 at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

The Honourable Sir John Davan Sainsbury. Sir David Perronet Sells.

Sir Charles Barry Shaw, C.B., Q.C.

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 11th March 1980, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Sir Walter CLEGG, M.P.

Sir Eric Roy Sisson. Sir Arthur Godfrey Taylor. Sir David Ronald Zeidler, C.B.E.

The QUEEN was pleased on Tuesday, 18th March 1980, at Buckingham Palace, to confer the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

The Honourable Sir Fabriciano Alexander Hoyos, Professor Sir William Henry Trethowen, C.B.E. Sir Eric Weiss,

Sir Hugh David Hamilton WILLS, C.B.E., T.D., D.L.

Under authority of a Royal Warrant, the Governor General of the Commonwealth of Australia, on Wednesday, 19th March 1980, at Government House, Canberra, conferred the Honour of Knighthood upon the undermentioned:

Sir Marcus Truby BEECK,
Sir Talbot Sydney DUCKMANTON, C.B.E.
Sir Keith Stephen JONES,
Sir Alexander George William Keys, O.B.E., M.C.
Sir Richard Robert LAW-SMITH, C.B.E., A.F.C.
Sir James Rupert MAGAREY.
Sir Keith Douglas Morris, C.B.E.
The Honourable Sir Reginald Allfree SAUTHERS

The Honourable Sir Reginald Allfree Smithers.

Sir Alan Walsh.

(Her Majesty's approval of these Knighthoods was signified on 11th June 1977, 16th June 1979 and 31st December 1979.) (1 SD

### PRIVY COUNCIL OFFICE

### ANCIENT MONUMENTS CONSOLIDATION AND AMENDMENT ACT 1913

Notice is hereby given that Her Majesty in Council was pleased on 19th March 1980 to approve an Order in Council under the above-named Act applying section 14 of the said Act (which provides for penalties for injury or defacement) to certain monuments in England specified in the Order.

Copies of the said Order may be inspected at the Privy Council Office, Whitehall, London SW1A 2AT. (2 S.I.)