

## COLLEGE BASEBALL HALL OF FAME ANNOUNCES OFFICIAL 2007 NOMINEE BALLOT CBF to Coordinate Inductions with Hall of Fame Week, 4<sup>th</sup> on Broadway Festival, July 2-4

March 1, 2007 www.collegebaseballfoundation.org

**LUBBOCK, Texas**—The **College Baseball Foundation** announced today the names of 50 all-time collegiate baseball greats - 26 former players, 12 coaches and 12 veteran candidates, who comprise the 2007 Official Ballot for induction into the **National College Baseball Hall of Fame**. The ballot was e-mailed earlier to the ninety-member Hall of Fame Voting Committee, which includes the ten present members of the Hall, who will participate in two rounds of elimination votes in order to pare these legendary names to the final list of 2007 Hall of Fame Inductees.

The list of potential Inductees include coaches Jerry Kindall of Arizona, Dr. Jim Brock of Arizona State, Bill Wilhelm of Clemson, Dick Seibert of Minnesota, Bibb Falk of Texas, Charles "Bobo" Brayton of Washington State, Norm DeBryin of Arkansas, Jack Stallings of Georgia Southern, John Winkin of Maine, Al Ogletree of UT Pan American, Bob Bennett of Fresno State and John "Hi" Simmons of Missouri.

The list of legendary former players include **Barry Larkin** and **Jim Abbott** of Michigan, **Mickey Sullivan** of Baylor, **Jackie Jensen** of California, **Tim Wallach** of Cal State Fullerton, **Derek Tatsuno** of Hawai'i, **Pete Incaviglia** of Oklahoma State, **Billy Swift** of Maine, **Neal Heaton** of Miami, **Paul Molitor** of Minnesota, **B. J. Surhoff** of North Carolina, **Joe Carter** and **Phil Stephenson** of Wichita State, **Steve Arlin** of Ohio State, **Keith Moreland** and **Greg Swindell** of Texas, **Fred Lynn** and **Hank Workman** of USC, **John Olerud** of Washington State, **Kevin McReynolds** of Arkansas, **Rafael Palmiero** of Mississippi State, **Ben McDonald** of LSU, **Mike Smith** of Indiana, **Bob Gibson** of Creighton, **Eddie Bane** of Arizona State and **Dick Howser** of Florida State.

The list of veteran pre-1947 candidates include coaches **Clint Evans** of California, **Ray Fisher** and **Branch Rickey** of Michigan, **Billy Disch** of Texas, **Ethan Allen** of Yale; player/coach **Carl Lundgren** of Illinois and players **Ted Lyons** of Baylor, **Frankie Frisch** of Fordham, **Bobby Layne** and **Ernie Koy, Sr**. of Texas, **Owen Carroll** of Holy Cross and **George Sisler** of Michigan. The two final veteran selections will be named later this fall and will be officially inducted with the Class of 2008.

The College Baseball Hall of Fame Class of 2007 will be announced at the completion of voting in mid March and officially inducted during a three-day celebration of collegiate baseball, which features the annual theme '**The Past Meets Present**'. The CBF plans to kick off the celebration on Monday, July 2nd with the first annual Mayor's Kickoff Breakfast, followed by the fourth annual **Brooks Wallace College Baseball Player of the Year Award** dinner to be held at the United Spirit Arena, on the campus of Texas Tech University on Tuesday, July 3rd. The 2007 Hall of Fame Class will be in attendance and recognized at the ceremony, then make their acceptance speeches during the **Official Induction Ceremonies** on July 4<sup>th</sup> as part of the annual 4<sup>th</sup> on Broadway Festival in Lubbock, considered the "Largest Free Festival in the State of Texas." Both events will be will be carried nationally by **Fox College Sports Networks** (Atlantic, Central and Pacific), as well as selected **Fox Sports Network** regional affiliates.

The 90-member CBF Hall of Fame Voting Committee is split into nine committees of ten members, which will choose these elite individuals. Persons assigned to the ABCA Veteran, ABCA Active, National, Historical, NCBWA, Former Players, National Media, Regional Media and the Hall of Fame Alumni Committees will comprise the total voting group. Each committee member has been chosen to achieve

P.O. Box 6507 Lubbock, Texas 79493-6507 www.CollegeBaseballFoundation.org a balanced representation from around the country--Far West, Northwest, Southwest, Mountain, Mid-South, South, Southeast, Deep South, Mid-North, Northeast. The entire process will be done online via the Internet.

"After inducting our first class in 2006, the excitement and momentum for this annual event has been accelerating," said CBF Chairman/CEO John Askins. "Our ceremonies have a unique place in the history of sports and we can tell from the world-wide response that the College Baseball Hall of Fame is an idea that has been long overdue. The entire South Plains is working to make Hall of Fame Week another exciting celebration."

On Wednesday, July 4<sup>th</sup>, the Inductees will participate in the annual 4<sup>th</sup> on Broadway Parade, and be accessible to attendees during a 'Fan Fest' following the event. The coaches and players will then make their official Acceptance Speeches into the Hall of Fame later that afternoon.

"This event has become engrained in the fabric of baseball, said Askins. "It has become *the* event every year to celebrate the legacies of the greatest players and coaches to play the collegiate game."

Over 300 candidates were originally submitted for consideration by universities and CBF members. In conjunction with the Society for the Advancement of Baseball Research (SABR), the **ABCA Veteran** and **CBF Historical Committees** comprised the **CBF Research Committee**, which was charged with the responsibility to evaluate nominees worthy of official consideration. After deliberations in January, the official ballot was submitted. A complete list and short biographies of the 2007 Hall of Fame ballot nominees, plus the criteria used in the selection process, are available at: <a href="https://www.collegebaseballfoundation.org">www.collegebaseballfoundation.org</a>

A complete list of names for the Hall of Fame Voting Committee will be made available after the 2007 inductees are announced.

The upcoming schedule and location of events, information regarding the sale of tickets, and exact times and dates for clearances around the country on Fox College Sports and Fox Sports Network, will be updated on the CBF website (<u>www.collegebaseballfoundation.org</u>.) as they are made available.

## 2007 Calendar Of Events

Monday, July 2 <sup>nd</sup>	7:00am	City of Lubbock - Mayor's Kickoff Breakfast
Tuesday, July 3 <sup>rd</sup>	6:30pm	Brooks Wallace National Player of the Year Award United Spirit Arena, Texas Tech campus
Wednesday, July 4 <sup>th</sup>	9:00am	Fourth on Broadway Festival Parade Hall of Fame Fan Fest Official 2007 Hall of Fame Induction Ceremonies

For more information on the 2007 College Baseball Hall of Fame contact:

John Askins—(832)-418-1055 jaskins@collegebaseballfoundation.org