IEEE REYNOLD B. JOHNSON INFORMATION STORAGE SYSTEMS AWARD RECIPIENTS

2015 - DOV MORAN Chief Executive Officer, Comigo, Yarkona, Israel "For pioneering contributions to storage systems based on flash memory."

AND

AMIR BAN Ramat Hasharon, Israel

AND

SIMON LITSYN Professor, Tel-Aviv University, Tel Aviv, Israel

"For fundamental contributions to the design and implementation of log-structured file and storage systems."

2014 - JOHN K. OUSTERHOUT Professor, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA

AND

MENDEL ROSENBLUM Professor, Stanford University, Stanford, California, USA

2013 - MICHAEL KAZAR
Founder of Transarc Corporation
and Chief Technology Officer,
Avere Systems, Pittsburgh, PA, USA

"For developments in networked global file systems and clustered data storage that shaped commercial networked file access and the emergence of cloud storage."

2012 - NAOYA TAKAHASHI
Representative Executive Officer,
Executive Vice President, Executive
Officer, Hitachi Ltd,
Tokyo, Japan

"For leadership in the development of innovative storage systems for heterogeneous open and mainframe servers, business continuity solutions and virtualization of heterogeneous storage systems."

2011 - NOT AWARDED

2010 – MOSHE YANAI IBM Fellow, IBM Corporation Waltham, MA, USA "For sustained innovation and legendary leadership in development of clustered global cache storage architectures and business continuity solutions that have defined the enterprise storage industry."

2009 – MARSHALL KIRK MC KUSICK Independent Consultant Berkeley, CA, USA "For fundamental contributions in file system design, mentoring file system designers, and disseminating file system research."

2008 - ALAN J. SMITH Professor, University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA, USA "For contributions to the performance analysis of computer storage systems, including improvements to disk caches, prefetching and data placement"

IEEE REYNOLD B. JOHNSON INFORMATION STORAGE SYSTEMS AWARD RECIPIENTS

2007 – DAVE HITZ
Executive VP and Co-Founder,
Network Appliance
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

"For innovation in file system technology, leading to the development of network file server appliances."

AND

JAMES LAU
Chief Strategy Officer, Executive VP,
Co-Founder, Network Appliance
Sunnyvale, CA, USA

"For pioneering work in the theory and application of RAID storage systems."

- 2006 JAISHANKAR M. MENON
 Director of Storage Systems
 Architecture and Design, IBM,
 San Jose, CA, USA
- 2005 FRANÇOIS B. DOLIVO

 Manager, Pervasive Computing
 Group, IBM Zurich Research
 Laboratory
 Ruschlikon, Switzerland

"For the application of digital signal processing to the magnetic recording channel in hard disk drives."

2004 – BRUCE A. GURNEY
Manager, Recording Head and
Nanostructure Materials Group
Hitachi Global Storage Technologies
San Jose, CA, USA

"For key technical contributions to the development of spin valve giant magnetoresistive recording heads for computer data storage devices."

AND

VIRGIL S. SPERIOSU Dix Hills, NY, USA

2003 - H. NEAL BERTRAM
Endowed Chair and Professor,
University of California-San Diego,
La Jolla, CA, USA

"For fundamental and pioneering contributions to magnetic recording physics research, applications and education."

2002 – CHRISTOPHER H. BAJOREK KOMAG, Inc. San Jose, CA, USA "For leadership in the development and manufacturing of magnetoresistive recording heads for data storage devices."

2001 - TU CHEN Komag, Incorporated San Jose, CA, USA "For leadership in the advancement of thin-film materials, tools, and processes used for magnetic information disks, and their commercialization as products."

2000 - MARK H. KRYDER Carnegie-Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA, USA "For leadership in data storage research and education as founding director of the Carnegie-Mellon Magnetics Technology

IEEE REYNOLD B. JOHNSON INFORMATION STORAGE SYSTEMS AWARD RECIPIENTS

Center and	d Data Stor	age Systems	Center."
Octivor arr	a Data Otor	ago o yotonik	OCHILOI.

1999 – DAVID A. PATTERSON University of California Berkeley, CA, USA "For the development of the Redundant Array of Inexpensive Disks (RAID) systems."

AND

RANDY A. KATZ University of California Berkeley, CA, USA

AND

GARTH A. GIBSON Carnegie Mellon University Pittsburgh, PA, USA

1998 - JEAN-PIERRE LAZZARI SILMAG St. Egreve, France

1997 - ALAN F. SHUGART Seagate Technology

Scotts Valley, CA, USA

1996 - NOBUTAKE IMAMURA Tosoh Corporation Kanagawa-ken, Japan

1995 - JAMES U. LEMKE Recording Physics, Inc. San Diego, CA, USA

1994 - DENIS MEE IBM Corp. San Jose, CA, USA

1993 - JOHN M. HARKER IBM Labs. San Jose, CA, USA "For contributions and key innovations in media and heads for magnetic disk drives."

"For leadership in the evolution of disk drive technology."

"For contributions to research, development, and commercialization of magneto-optic recording media and drive systems."

"For contributions to advancing the science and technology of high density magnetic data storage."

"For contributions to the design of optical, magneto-optical, and magnetic recording files."

"For leadership in the development of information storage devices, including key contributions to the design of many generations of magnetic disk files."