THE ROYAL HORTICULTURAL SOCIETY'S JOINT ROCK GARDEN PLANT COMMITTEE

The Joint Rock Garden Plant Committee consists of representatives from the Royal Horticultural Society, the Alpine Garden Society and the Scottish Rock Garden Club.

The Committee meets at all the Royal Horticultural Society's Shows at 12 noon in the RHS Halls, Vincent Square, London and at certain selected Scottish Rock Garden Club and Alpine Garden Society Shows. In the current season the committee will meet at the following Alpine Garden Society shows:

South Wales Saturday February 15 Kent Saturday March 22 Northumberland Saturday March 29 Ulster Saturday April 5 London Sunday April 27 Malvern Saturdav May 10 Summer North Sunday June 15 Loughborough Autumn Saturday October 4

Awards which may be recommended:

- First Class Certificate
 O
- Award of Merit
- Certificate of Preliminary Commendation
- Certificate of Cultural Commendation.

The committee may also recommend a plant be considered for an Award of Garden Merit.

All plants to be submitted to the Committee must be entered on forms obtainable from the Show Secretary on the morning of the Show; or in advance from the Director of Shows or the Secretary. Completed forms must be returned to the Committee Secretary by 11 am on the day of the Show.

- a) Plants may be entered for the competitive classes in the Show, in which case the Show Secretary will be responsible for moving them to the Committee Room. In order to assist the Show Secretary to do this, the owner must provide a note of the plants and the classes in which they are being exhibited.
- b) Plants not on the Show Bench should be delivered directly to the Committee Room by the owner one hour before the meeting.

Plants may be recommended for trial, and Exhibitors tacitly agree to send the required plants, bulbs, cuttings etc for trial when desired by the Royal Horticultural Society.

Herbarium specimens may also be required for the horticultural Herbarium at the RHS Garden at Wisley, in order to provide scientific material for record and study.

Committee membership for 2014

Chair: Dr C Grey-Wilson Vice-Chair: A Leven, Prof A J Richards, R Rolfe, D Haselgrove, R J A Leeds

RHS Representatives J Armitage, Mrs J Bishop, I Christie, T Hall, J McGregor, Dr M Sheader, RBG Kew representative

> Alpine Garden Society Representatives R Drew, Dr J E G Good, D Peace, Mrs M F Randall, Mrs R Wallis

Scottish Rock Garden Club Representatives Dr I Bainbridge, C Lafong, Dr D Millward, Prof D Rankin, Dr P Semple, J I Young, RBG Edinburgh representative

Honorary Members C D Brickell, Capt. P J Erskine RN, J Jermyn, B Mathew

Friends B Burrow, Mrs A Chambers, A R Furness, Dr K Lever

> Corresponding Members H Jans, H Zetterlund

Secretary: M Pitcher AGS Hon Secretary: J McGregor. SRGC Hon Secretary: Dr C Bainbridge