THE WILKINSON PRIZE FOR NUMERICAL SOFTWARE

In honour of the outstanding contributions of James Hardy Wilkinson to the field of numerical software, Argonne National Laboratory, the National Physical Laboratory, and the Numerical Algorithms Group award a numerical software prize of US \$3 000. Prizes have previously been awarded at the International Conference in Industrial and Applied Mathematics (ICIAM):

1991	Linda Petzold	DASSL
1995	Chris Bischof and Alan Carle	ADIFOR 2.0
1999	Matteo Frigo and Steven Johnson	FFTW
2003	Jonathan Shewchuk	Triangle

The 2007 prize will be awarded at ICIAM 2007 in Zurich, 16-20 July 2007, www.iciam07.ch.

Rules for Submission

Each author of an entry must be at most 40 years of age on 1 January 2007. Each entry must contain the following:

- Software written in a widely available high-level programming language;
- A paper describing the algorithm and the software implementation, giving an analysis of the algorithm and indicating any special programming features;
- Documentation of the software, which describes its purpose and method of use;
- Examples of use of the software, including a test program and data;
- A two-page summary of the main features of the algorithm and software implementation.

Submissions must be in English and received by 3 November 2006.

Selection Criteria

The award will be made to the entry that best addresses all phases of the preparation of high-quality numerical software, including:

- Clarity of the paper, the software implementation and documentation;
- Portability, reliability, efficiency and usability of the software implementation;
- Depth of analysis of the algorithm and the software;
- Importance of the application addressed by the software;
- Quality of the test software.

Submissions

Each submission should include a README file describing its contents and facilities for executing the test program.

Submissions can be sent by email to wilkinson-prize@npl.co.uk. Contact this address for further information.

ANL: www.anl.gov, NPL: www.npl.co.uk, NAG: www.nag.co.uk

Professor Maurice Cox Wilkinson Prize 2007 Chair