City of Accra Logo
Welcome to the
City of Accra - AMA

Alternative content

Get Adobe Flash player


Physical And Natural Environment Boundary/ Administrative Area

AMA is made up of Eleven Sub Metropolitan District Councils namely Ablekuma Central, Ablekuma North, Ablekuma South, Ashiedu Keteke, Ayawaso Central, Ayawaso East, Ayawaso West, La, Okaikoi North, Okaikoi South and Osu Klotey. The total land area of the Assembly is 173 square kilometres.Â

The Assembly shares its northern boundary with the Ga West District Assembly. The boundary, in the north, starts from the road between the Institute of Professional Studies (IPS) and the Accra Teachers Training College (ATRACO), westwards crossing the Accra-Aburi Road to the University of Ghana behind the great Hall to Kisiseman and Christian Village to join the Accra Nsawam Road at the Achimota Brewery Road Junction. It turns left for 500m to the Ayeayeefee Street junction and through the Ayeayeefee Street to the Bridge over the Achimota Stream, and then turns right along the stream to the high tension lines to the Achwilage Street and through Achwilage Street to the range of the Awoshie Hills.
The Southern boundary is engulfed by the Gulf of Guinea. It start from Gbegbeyese to the Kpeshie Lagoon.
The Eastern corridor of the Assembly is the Ledzokuku-Krowor Municipal Assembly (which was carved out of the Accra Metropolitan Assembly). There are conflicts over the boundaries between AMA and LEKMA.
The Assembly is bounded to the West by Ga South Municipal Assembly. The boundary in the west is along the road from Awoshie hills to the boundary between Ga South Municipal Assembly and Awoshie (Accra Metropolis). The boundary line then turns left along the swampy area and crossing the motorway through the swampy area to the bridge on the Sakumono Stream on the Accra-Winneba road and stretching along the stream to Gbegbeyese.