

## Winners of the ZSL Frink Medal for British Zoologists

| 2014 | Professor Sir Patrick Bateson FRS  |
|------|--|
|      | for outstanding contributions to ethology                                    |
| 2013 | Professor Michael Akam FRS   |
|      | for outstanding contributions to evolutionary developmental biology          |
| 2012 | Professor Georgina Mace FRS  |
|      | for outstanding contributions to conservation biology                        |
| 2011 | Professor Paul Harvey CBE FRS  |
|      | for outstanding contributions to evolutionary biology and ecology            |
| 2010 | Professor Ziheng Yang FRS  |
|      | For outstanding contributions to our knowledge of molecular evolution        |
| 2009 | Professor Charles Godfray FRS  |
|      | for outstanding contributions to our knowledge of population and community   |
|      | ecology, and evolutionary biology  |
| 2008 | Professor Chris Stringer FRS   |
|      | for outstanding contributions to our knowledge of human origins              |
| 2007 | Professor Tom Cavalier-Smith FRS   |
|      | for contributions to our knowledge of cell and genome evolution, large-scale |
|      | phylogeny and evolutionary transitions                                       |
| 2006 | Professor Brian Charlesworth FRS   |
|      | for his outstanding research in evolutionary genetics                        |
| 2005 | Professor Geoff Parker FRS   |
|      | in recognition of his research into evolutionary processes                   |
| 2004 | Professor Malcolm Burrows FRS  |
|      | in recognition of his research on the neuronal basis of behaviour.           |
| 2003 | Professor Quentin Bone FRS   |
|      | in recognition of his outstanding contribution to zoology.                   |
| 2002 | Professor Michael P. Hassell FRS   |
|      | in recognition of his contribution to population ecology.                    |

| 2001 | Professor Nick Davies FRS  |
|------|--|
|      | in recognition of his contribution to behavioural ecology  |
| 2000 | Professor Richard Fortey FRS   |
|      | in recognition of his contribution to palaeontology.   |
| 1999 | Professor Linda Partridge FRS  |
|      | in recognition of her contribution to evolutionary biology.  |
| 1998 | Professor John H. Lawton FRS   |
|      | in recognition of his contribution to ecological science and to science in public life.                                  |
| 1997 | Professor T. H. Clutton-Block FRS  |
|      | for setting new standards of design and analysis for using mammalian field studies to answer scientific questions.       |
| 1996 | Professor J. R. Krebs FRS  |
|      | in recognition of his outstanding role in the establishment and development of the discipline of behavioural ecology.    |
| 1995 | Professor Sir Robert May FRS   |
|      | for distinguished contributions to theoretical ecology.  |
| 1994 | Professor M. F. Land FRS   |
|      | for continued excellence in experimental work on vision.   |
| 1993 | Professor R. M. Anderson FRS   |
|      | for contributions to the fundamental theory of epidemiology and its application to the dynamics of disease transmission. |
| 1992 | Professor B. K. Follett FRS  |
|      | for contributions to the understanding of photoperiodism.  |
| 1991 | Professor R. A. Hinde FRS  |
|      | for outstanding contributions to the biological study of animal and human behaviour.                                     |
| 1990 | Professor W. D. Hamilton FRS   |
|      | for distinguished contributions to evolutionary biology  |
| 1989 | Professor J. Maynard Smith, FRS  |
|      | for contributions to the theory of evolutionary biology, behavioural ecology and population genetics                     |
| 1988 | Professor A.J. Cain FRS  |
|      | for contributions to the genetics of <i>Cepaea</i> and to the theory of evolution and taxonomy                           |

| 1987 | <b>Professor Sir Eric Denton CBE, FRS</b><br>for distinguished contributions to marine biology, especially in its experimental<br>aspects  |
|------|--|
| 1986 | <b>Dr Vera Fretter</b><br>for her contributions to the understanding of the developmental biology,<br>physiological ecology and functional morphology of the prosobranch molluscs              |
| 1985 | Professor J.D. Smyth<br>for distinguished contributions to parasitology  |
| 1984 | <b>Professor P.C.C. Garnham FRS</b><br>for distinguished contributions to malarial protozoology, in particular for work on<br>the Haematozoa of mammals, birds and reptiles                    |
| 1983 | <b>Dr Geoffrey Fryer</b><br>for contributions to the study of the evolution of Crustacea and of African<br>freshwater fishes   |
| 1982 | <b>Professor J. M. Dodd</b><br>for distinguished contributions to zoology through research on endocrinology<br>and through work to advance the organization and teaching of zoology in Britain |
| 1981 | Sir Eric Simth CBE ScD, FRS<br>for distinguished contributions to zoology through both research and<br>administration  |
| 1980 | <b>Professor W. H. Thorpe FRS</b><br>for his work in the natural history and behaviour of animals, particularly birds<br>and insects and for his contributions to the philosophy of zoology    |
| 1979 | <b>Professor V. C. Wynne-Edwards FRS</b><br>for services to general zoology and particularly to ornithology and its wider<br>implications for population biology                               |
| 1978 | <b>Professor Sir Vincent Wigglesworth CBE, FRS</b><br>for the contribution of his work on insect physiology and endocrinology to the<br>general development of zoology                         |
| 1977 | <b>Dr Sidnie M. Manton FRS</b><br>for the advances made by her towards the understanding of arthropod evolution  |
| 1976 | Professor E. J. W. Barrington FRS<br>for distinguished services to zoology   |
| 1975 | Professor Alastair Graham<br>for distinguished services to zoology   |