# Wilson S. Stone Memorial Award Recipients

### 2013 Nicholas E. Navin, PhD

For his work on developing single nucleus sequencing, one of the first methods for performing genome-wide next-generation sequencing analysis on individual cancel cells.

#### 2012 Luca Gattinoni, M.D.

For his work on Iterative development of novel T cell-based adoptive immunotherapies by simultaneously exploring mouse and human T cell biology.

### 2011 Roeland Verhaak, Ph.D.

For his work on integrated genomic analyses of glioblastoma multiform.

## 2010 Michael Davies, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work on integrated approaches to study the role and regulation of protein kinase signaling pathways in cancer.

## 2009 Weihua Zhang, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work on EGFR can maintain the survival of cancer cells independent of its kinase activity.

# 2008 Helene Richards McMurray, Ph.D.

For her work on how multiple cancer genes cooperate to cause the transformation of malignant cells.

### 2007 Karen T. Liby, Ph.D.

For her work the molecular actions of synthetic triterpenoids.

## 2006 Scott Armstrong, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in the field of genomics and cancer stem cell research.

#### 2005 John V. Heymach, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in the field of angiogenesis inhibitors and other targeted agents.

#### 2004 David M. Berman, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in elucidating roles for Hedgehog (Hh) signaling pathway in cancer.

### 2003 Xiao-Feng Qin, Ph.D.

For his work in the fields of cellular and molecular immunology.

#### 2002 David Cortez, Ph.D.

For his in discovering the basic biological processes that govern cell growth and genome stability.

# 2001 James A. Thomson, V.M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in the isolation and culture of nonhuman primate and human embryonic stem cells.

#### 2000 Lynda Chin. M.D.

For her work in describing the pathways integral to the development of melanoma.

### 1999 William C. Hahn, M.D., Ph.D.

For his research on the malignant transformation of human cells.

## 1999 Yigong Shi, Ph.D.

For his work in relating molecular structure to biological processes, reconciling observations, and predicting patterns of function.

# 1998 Xiaodong Wang, Ph.D.

For his work in identifying triggers of programmed cell death.

### 1997 Peter C. Brooks, Ph.D.

For his studies defining the role of integrin  $\alpha v\beta 3$  in tumor growth and angiogenesis.

### 1996 Ali Hemmati-Brivanlou, Ph.D.

For his contributions to the study of molecular events leading to vertebrate embryonic induction.

### 1995 Nikola P. Pavletich, Ph.D.

For his work on clarifying the structures involved in the p53 pathway and related pathways of cell cycle control.

### 1994 Junying Yuan, Ph.D

For her work in genetic regulation of programmed cell death.

#### 1993 Andrew B. Lassar, Ph.D.

For his work on transcription factors that play a role in controlling muscle determination and differentiation.

#### 1992 Timothy J. McDonnell, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work on programmed cell death and its regulation.

## 1991 Frank J. Rauscher III, Ph.D.

For his work on the molecular basis of oncogenesis at the level of gene regulation.

### 1991 William H. Landschulz, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in developing the leucine zipper model of sequence-specific interaction between protein and DNA.

### 1990 Eric R. Fearon, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work on the relationships between the loss of genetic material and the development and spread of cancer.

### 1989 Christopher K. Glass, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work in clarifying the molecular mechanisms of steroid and thyroid hormone actions.

### 1988 Jeremy Nathans, M.D., Ph.D.

For his studies that have improved our knowledge of color vision.

### 1987 Bernd Robert Seizinger, M.D.

For his work resulting in the identification of genetic changes resulting in two forms of neurofibromatosis.

# 1985 Jeffrey Adam Drebin, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work with monoclonal antibodies reactive with a cell-surface oncogene product.

# 1984 Mary Ellen Harper, Ph.D.

For her role in developing the most widely used technique for mapping single copy genes using in situ hybridization.

### 1983 Ethan Arthur Lerner, M.D., Ph.D.

For his work with monoclonal antibodies specific for an immune response gene product.

# 1981 Michael Rush Lerner, M.D., Ph.D.

For his studies of small nuclear RNA protein complexes.

## 1980 Peter T. Lomedico, Ph.D.

For his work on the structure and expression of insulin genes.

### 1980 Marc S Collett, Ph.D.

For his studies on the avian sarcoma virus transforming gene product.

## 1979 Craig W. Spellman, Ph.D.

For his work on the role of suppressor cells in tumor immunology.

#### 1978 Bruce K. Duncan, Ph.D.

For his work with uracil-DNA glycosidase.

#### 1977 Bosco S. Wang, Ph.D.

For his work on the potential use of immunogenic RNA.

# 1976 Kathryn B. Horwitz, Ph.D.

For her work in developing methods for predicting endocrine responsiveness in metastatic breast cancer.

# 1974 Ronald C. Merrell, M.D.

For his work on the cell surface recognition properties of embryonic cells.

### 1973 Kathleen J. Dana, Ph.D.

For her work in the study of the SV40 tumor virus genome.

### 1972 Michael F. Holick, Ph.D.

For his work in the field of vitamin D metabolism.

#### 1971 Roberta M. Palmour, Ph.D.

For her studies of the structure of transferrin.