University of Minnesota
myU OneStop

The Humphrey School of Public Affairs is the University of
Minnesota's school of policy and planning.

Edward A. Burdick Legislative Award

To recognize an outstanding student graduating from the Humphrey School of Public Affairs for his or her exceptional work that exemplifies bipartisanship or forging bipartisan relationships in public policy or legislation in Minnesota.

Nominations for this award are due May 7, 2015.

The Edward A Burdick Legislative Award was created by Dr. Patrick Mendis, who received his MA from the Humphrey School of Public Affairs in 1986 and a Ph.D from the University of Minnesota in 1989. He knew Edward Burdick as a friend and mentor for more than a quarter century, and they became a “family.” Burdick was the consummate public servant, a sixty-year legendary employee of the Minnesota House of Representatives who was elected unanimously by Democratic and Republican legislators to serve the last thirty-eight years as the Chief Clerk and Parliamentarian before his retirement in 2005.

Eligibility + Selection

To be considered for the award, the nominee must be a Humphrey School student who has or will be graduating between September 2014 and August 2015.

The award and a prize of $500 will be given at commencement on May 17th, 2015.

To apply

The nominator must submit:

• A 500-word personal statement describing nominee's exceptional work that exemplifies bipartisanship or forging bipartisanship in public policy or legislation in Minnesota.

• Letters of support from two individuals who are familiar with the nominee's background and commitment to bipartisanship in public policy and/or the Minnesota Legislature. The letters should address the following:

o In what ways has this nominee exemplified the spirit of bipartisanship demonstrated by Chief Clerk and Parliamentarian Edward A Burdick?

o What are some specific examples where the nominee has fostered bipartisanship or demonstrated bipartisanship in her or his own right?

o How did this spirit of bipartisanship help advance public policy or problem solving in Minnesota?

Please feel free to nominate yourself or a colleague. Faculty are also welcome to nominate students. Nominating materials may be e-mailed to or sent to: Humphrey Student Services, 280 Humphrey School, 301 19th Avenue South, Minneapolis, MN
55455 by 4:30 p.m. on May 7, 2015.