Selective High Schools


Related information


Contact Details

High Performing Students Unit
Phone: (02) 1300 880 367
Fax: (02) 9266 8435

Postal Address: Locked Bag 53 DARLINGHURST NSW 1300


Secondary Schools - Selective High Schools

Selective high schools cater for gifted and talented students who have superior to very superior academic ability which is matched by exceptionally high classroom performance. These schools can provide intellectual stimulation by grouping together gifted and talented students who may otherwise be isolated from a suitable peer group.

There are:

  • Seventeen fully selective high schools. All classes are academically selective.
  • Twenty five high schools with selective classes (partially selective). Partially selective high schools have both selective and community classes. (Note: Sydney Secondary College Blackwattle Bay Campus, although partially selective, has selective classes only in Years 11 and 12 and is therefore not included in this application process.
  • Four agricultural high schools, three of which offer boarding places. Agricultural high schools are selective high schools that emphasise the study of agriculture, with the boarding sections giving some priority to isolated students.
  • One virtual selective secondary school, Aurora College, offering selective placement in Year 7. For Aurora College, only students intending to enrol in a government high school in a rural and remote location are eligible to apply.

Year 7 entry into these schools is determined by the student's results in the Selective High School Placement Test in English (including reading and writing), mathematics and general ability, together with their primary school's assessment of their performance in English and mathematics. Other evidence of academic merit may also be considered. Entry into Years 8 to 12 is determined using criteria developed by each school's selection committee.

Partially selective high schools have both selective and community classes.

Sydney Secondary College Balmain and Leichhardt Campuses cater for students from Years 7 to 10. Students attending Sydney Secondary College Leichhardt or Balmain Campuses in Years 7 to 10 will generally proceed to Sydney Secondary College Blackwattle Bay Campus for Years 11 and 12.


Copyright for this website is owned by the State of New South Wales through the Department of Education. The Department of Education supports and encourages the dissemination and exchange of publicly funded information and endorses the use of the Australian Governments Open Access and Licensing Framework (AusGOAL) ( Copyright material available on this website is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution 4.0 International (CC BY 4.0) licence ( This allows you to share and adapt this material for any purpose as long as attribution is given to: © State of New South Wales (Department of Education) 2015.
For more information go to