

MEDIA RELEASE

2006 Legislative Council elections—dates announced

The Tasmanian Electoral Commission today announced the timetable for the 2006 Legislative Council elections to be held in the divisions of Rowallan and Wellington. The Legislative Council is the upper house of our State Parliament and voting is compulsory for electors in these two divisions.

It is expected that His Excellency the Governor will issue writs with the following dates—

- Issue of Writs and Close of Electoral Rolls 6 pm Tuesday 4 April 2006
- Announcement of Nominations 12 noon Thursday 13 April 2006
- Polling Day 8 am 6 pm Saturday 6 May 2006

Electors are reminded to ensure their electoral enrolment is up-to-date, especially those who may have changed their address. Enrolment can be checked by calling 13 23 26.

Enrolment forms can be obtained from any post office or electoral office or can be downloaded from our website.

Attachments:

Division description

Derivations of the names of the 2 divisions.

Note: You can also view Maps and other election information on our website www.electoral.tas.gov.au or obtain by calling our office.

ENDS — 6.00 PM Thursday 23 March 2006

4 pages

For further information — Bruce Taylor ELECTORAL COMMISSIONER

Division description

Division of Rowallan

Rowallan is a rural-based division including Bothwell, Carrick, Cressy, Deloraine, Elderslie, Frankford, Longford, Miena, Port Sorell, Railton, Sheffield, Westbury and Wilmot. Most of Perth and some outlying parts of Latrobe also fall within this division.

Division of Wellington

Wellington is a Hobart-based division including Battery Point, West Hobart, Glebe, New Town, Lenah Valley, Mount Stuart, Lutana and Moonah (but not West Moonah).

ROWALLAN—derivation of name

The division of Rowallan takes its name from three components of the Mersey–Forth hydro-electric development, in the north-west—Lake Rowallan, Rowallan Dam and Rowallan Power Station.

Lake Rowallan is 488 metres above sea level and covers an area of 8.86 square kilometres. Rowallan Dam impounds the waters of the Mersey River in a gorge bordered by impressive mountains, including Clumner Bluff (1449 metres) and Howells Bluff (1245 metres).

The lake, dam and power station were named after Lord Rowallan (Thomas Godfrey Polson Corbett), who was Governor of Tasmania from November 1959 until March 1963.

Lord Rowallan, who was born in 1895 and died in 1977, was Chief Scout of the British Commonwealth and Empire from 1945 until his appointment as Governor of Tasmania, which included the role of Chief Scout of Tasmania. Lord Rowallan was the son of Archibald Corbett, a Scottish businessman, Liberal Member of Parliament and noted for his philanthropic works, for which he was created the first Baron Rowallan in 1911. Thomas Corbett inherited the title on his father's death in 1933.

The Corbett family is from Rowallan, near Kilmarnock, in county Ayr, Scotland. Rowallan Castle was acquired by the Corbetts early this century; restoration was considered, but a new house was built instead. The castle is now listed as an Ancient Monument.

Lord Rowallan served at Gallipoli, Egypt and Palestine in World War 1 and was wounded on the Western Front. He was awarded the Military Cross and invalided out of the army. After the war he was involved in agricultural pursuits and with the family company, the food manufacturer Brown and Polson.

He served briefly in France in World War 11, where he saw fierce action, but his World War 1 leg injury worsened and he spent the rest of the war engaged in military training.

After World War 11, he spent much of his time building up the Boy Scout movement internationally, before taking up his appointment as Governor of Tasmania, where he enjoyed a high degree of popularity.

WELLINGTON—derivation of name

Hobart's 1270-metre backdrop, Mount Wellington—which gives the Hobart-based division its name—is the dominant feature not just of Hobart but much of southern Tasmania as well. It is a scenic attraction and recreational asset that few other cities anywhere can boast in their very 'backyard'.

Mount Wellington, as seen from Hobart, is the eastern escarpment of the much larger Wellington Range, most of which is protected in a park under the control of the Hobart City Council.

It has a practical use for many Hobart residents as the city's 'barometer'—the weather on Mount Wellington usually foretells what is in store for the rest of Hobart.

Because Mount Wellington is such a dominant feature, it was sighted by and recorded on many of the maps of early explorers, including Englishman William Bligh and Frenchman Bruni D'Entrecasteaux in the late 18th century.

The Tasmanian Aboriginal people knew it as Unghanyahletta or Pooraneteere. Lieutenant David Collins, in charge of the first European settlement in Tasmania in 1804, called it Table Mountain. It was renamed about 1822 in honour of the Duke of Wellington, the 'Iron Duke', hero of the Battle of Waterloo. Governor Macquarie probably named it during his second visit to the colony.

George Bass is thought to have been the first European to scale the mountain, a feat he accomplished in 1798 during his circumnavigation of Tasmania with Matthew Flinders.

Other notable early climbers included Charles Darwin, of Origin of the Species fame, who was accompanied by a guide to the summit in 1836, while making his round-the-world voyage on the Beagle. Darwin described the experience as "a severe day's work".

The name Wellington revives a former Legislative Council electorate name, existing for a brief period in 1855 in what is now the northern section of Murchison (part of the North-West Coast and hinterland), and a small, former House of Assembly electorate in the far north-west between 1871 and 1903.