MARGINS

The Kentucky Derby has been decided by less than one length on 42 occasions. Meanwhile, the Derby has been won by four lengths or more 23 times.

Largest Winning Margin

Derby Winner	Year	Margin
Old Rosebud	1914	8 lengths
Johnstown	1939	8 lengths
Whirlaway	1941	8 lengths
Assault	1946	8 lengths
Mine That Bird	2009	6 ¾ lengths
Barbaro	2006	6 1/2 lengths
Chant	1894	6 lengths
Hoop Jr.	1945	6 lengths
Spend a Buck	1985	5 1/4 lengths
Halma	1895	5 lengths
Sir Barton	1919	5 lengths
Bubbling Over	1926	5 lengths
Burgoo King	1932	5 lengths
Dust Commander	1970	5 lengths
Monarchos	2001	4 3/4 lengths
Big Brown	2008	4 ¾ lengths
Pensive	1944	4 ½ lengths
Hindoo	1881	4 lengths
Lookout	1893	4 lengths
Wintergreen	1909	4 lengths
Twenty Grand	1931	4 lengths
Count Turf	1951	4 lengths
War Emblem	2002	4 lengths

Smallest Winning Margin

Derby Winner	Year	Margin
Spokane	1889	nose
Azra	1892	nose
Ben Brush	1896	nose
Plaudit	1898	nose
Alan-a-Dale	1902	nose
Brokers Tip	1933	nose
Iron Liege	1957	nose
Tomy Lee-GB	1959	nose
Grindstone	1996	nose
Paul Jones	1920	head
Behave Yourself	1921	head
Whiskery	1927	head
Bold Venture	1936	head
Jet Pilot	1947	head
Dark Star	1953	head
Silver Charm	1997	head
Joe Cotton	1885	neck
Typhoon II	1897	neck
Worth	1912	neck
George Smith	1916	neck
Northern Dancer	1964	neck
Lucky Debonair	1965	neck
Majestic Prince	1969	neck
Winning Colors	1988	neck
Charismatic	1999	neck
Apollo	1882	½ length
Ben Ali	1886	½ length
Kingman	1891	½ length
Elwood	1904	½ length
Donau	1910	½ length
Donerail	1913	½ length
Black Gold	1924	½ length
Tim Tam	1958	½ length
Kauai King	1966	½ length
Real Quiet	1998	½ length
Giacomo	2005	½ length
Judge Himes	1903	¾ length
Meridian	1911	¾ length
Needles	1956	¾ length
Carry Back	1961	¾ length
Pleasant Colony	1981	¾ length
Alysheba	1987	¾ length