REPUBLIC OF NAMIBIA



PRESS RELEASE OFFICE OF THE PRIME MINISTER

MARCH 19, 2015

WINDHOEK

ALL MEDIA

ANNOUNCEMENT OF NEW DEPUTY MINISTERS

I would like to thank you all for having turned up in good numbers today, to cover the third press conference which I had promised before, where I released the names of Cabinet Ministers and Deputy Ministers.

As promised today, I am now releasing the names of the remaining Deputy Ministers for your coverage.

I would also like to extend sincere apologies to all Deputy Ministers as they were not consulted prior to the announcement, because the time was against us. That is why it was done in a hurry. Once more my apologies!

I therefore thank all those proposed Deputy Ministers who already called to thank me, pointing out that the idea is not about being consulted, but to have been identified to serve the nation.

- **Presidency**

- Office of the Vice President –
 Veterans Affairs, Marginalised & any other duties assigned to the office
 - Hon Nickey Iyambo
 - Deputy Minister in Presidency in VP's office: Ms Alexia Manombe-Ncube
 - Deputy Minister in Presidency in VP's office: Royal /Ui/o/oo
- Minister in Presidency in charge of National Planning Commission – Hon Tom Alweendo
 - Deputy Minister Ms. Lucia Ipumbu
- Minister of Presidential Affairs Mr. Frans Kapofi
- Intelligence -
- Former Presidents & Founding Father
- Support staff
 - Economic Advisor, Political Advisor, Legal Advisor, Performance and Evaluation Advisor, Chief of Staff (operations), Government Spokesperson
 - Permanent Secretary

Prime Minister

- Hon Saara Kuugongelwa-Amadhila and Existing Staff plus her own Personal Assistant
- Deputy Minister Ms. Christina Hoebes
- Secretary to Cabinet
- Deputy Prime Minister
 - Hon Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah

Ministries

1. Deputy PM & Minister of International Relations & Cooperations

- Hon Netumbo Nandi-Ndaitwah
- Deputy Minister Hon Peya Mushelenga
- Deputy Minister Ms Maureen Hinda

2. Minister of Finance

- Hon Calle Schlettwein
- Deputy Minister Mr. Natangwe Ithete

3. Minister of Defence

- Hon Penda Ya Ndakolo
- Deputy Minister Mr. Billy Mwaningange

4. Minister of Home Affairs and Immigration

- Hon Pendukeni Iivula-Ithana
- Deputy Minister Hon. Erastus Uutoni

5. Minister of Higher Education, Training and Innovation

- Dr. Itah Murangi-Kandjii
- Deputy Minister Dr Becky Ndjoze-Ojo

6. Minister of Education, Arts and Culture

- Hon Katrina Hanse-Himarwa
- Deputy Minister Ms. Anna Hipondoka

7. Minister of Industrialization, Trade and SME Development

- Hon Immanuel Ngatjizeko
- Deputy Minister Hon Pieter van der Walt

8. Minister of Urban and Rural development

- Hon Sophia Shaningwa
- Deputy Minister Hon. Derek Klazen
- Deputy Minister Hon Sylvia Makgone

9. **Minister of Poverty Eradication and Social Welfare**

- Bishop Kameeta
- Deputy Minister Ms. Aino Kapewangolo
- Deputy Minister Ms. Priscilla Beukes

10. Minister of Health and Social Services

- Dr. Bernhard Haufiku
- Deputy Minister Hon Juliet Kavetuna

11. Minister of Public Enterprises

- Mr. Leon Jooste
- Deputy Minister Mr. Engel Nawatiseb

12. Minister of Works and Transport

- Hon Alpheus !Naruseb
- Deputy Minister Hon Kilus Nguvauva
- Deputy Minister Mr. Sankwasa James Sankwasa

13. Minister of Safety and Security

- Hon Charles Namoloh
- Deputy Minister Mr. Daniel Kashikola

14. Minister of Agriculture, Water and Forestry

- Hon John Mutorwa
- Deputy Minister Ms. Anna Shiweda
- Deputy Minister Hon Theo Diergaartd

15. Minister of Land Reform

- Hon Uutoni Nujoma
- Deputy Minister Hon Bernadus Swartbooi

16. **Minister of Information Communications and Technology**

- Hon Tjekero Tweya
- Deputy Minister Hon. Stanley Simataa

17. Minister of Gender Equality and Child Welfare

- Hon Doreen Sioka
- Deputy Minister Ms Lucia Witbooi

18. **Minister of Justice**

- Dr Albert Kawana
- Deputy Minister Ms Lidwina Shapwa

19. **Minister of Labour, Industrial Relations and Employment Creation**

- Hon Erkki Nghimtina
- Deputy Minister Hon. Alpheus Muheua

20. **Minister of Fisheries and Marine Resources**

- Hon Bernhard Esau
- Deputy Minister Chief Samuel Ankama

21. **Ministry Mines and Energy**

- Mr. Obed Kandjoze
- Deputy Minister Ms Kornelia Shilunga

22. Minister of Environment and Tourism

- Hon Pohamba Shifeta
- Deputy Minister Hon Tommy Nambahu

23. Minister of Sport, Youth and National Service

- Hon Jerry Ekandjo
- Deputy Minister Ms. Agnes Tjongarero