Evolution News
January 16, 2016

Latest Headlines
updated 8:58pm EST

More Evolution News
January 16, 2016

Dec. 17, 2015 — An evolutionary biologist has analyzed political opposition to evolution and found it has evolved. The researcher analyzed the text in anti-evolution legislation using software for building genetic ... read more

Dec. 16, 2015 — A new study finds a surprising and very recent shift away from the steady relationship among species that prevailed for more than 300 million years. The study offers the first long-term view of how ... read more

Fossils Enrich Our Understanding of Evolution

Dec. 16, 2015 — Our understanding of evolution can be enriched by adding fossil species to analyses of living animals, as shown by scientists. The research also highlights that different methods can be crucial in ... read more

Scientist Unravels the Mysteries of a Beetle That Lived Nearly 100 Million Years Ago

Dec. 15, 2015 — By studying a remarkable fossil, a scientist and his German counterparts are unraveling the secrets of an ancient beetle that wandered Earth almost 100 million years ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — Idle conversation could be a social-bonding tool passed down from primates, suggests new research. The investigators found that lemurs use vocalizations far more selectively than previously thought, ... read more

Dec. 14, 2015 — A landmark new study explores the fascinating, little-known natural history of the face mite species Demodex folliculorum, using genetic testing to link the microscopic animal's evolution to our ... read more

Dec. 11, 2015 — The evolution of modern birds was greatly shaped by the history of our planet's geography and climate. New research finds that birds arose in what is now South America around 90 million years ... read more

Dec. 10, 2015 — An historic find --- made in South China -- fills a huge gap in the known fossil record of kinorhynchs, small invertebrate animals that are related to ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — Researchers have described a new species of plant-eating dinosaur, Hualianceratops wucaiwanensis, that stood on its hind feet and was about the size of a spaniel. It is similar in age to the ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — A 15-million-year-old fossil sperm whale specimen from California belongs to a new genus, according to a new ... read more

Dec. 9, 2015 — Prior to the rise of modern day mammalian carnivores, North America was dominated by a now extinct group of mammalian carnivores, hyaenodontids. Fossils of hyaenodontids are relatively common from ... read more

Dec. 8, 2015 — The cheetah (Acinonyx jubatus) is now at home on the African plains, but it started a migration 100,000 years ago from North America towards its current habitat. The research found that the migration ... read more

Dec. 1, 2015 — The sweet, juicy peaches we love today might have been a popular snack long before modern humans arrived on the ... read more

Dec. 1, 2015 — Who came first – sponges or comb jellies? A new study reaffirms that sponges are the oldest animal phylum – and restores the classical view of early animal evolution, which recent molecular ... read more

Dec. 1, 2015 — In a new global theory of land-biome evolution, researchers suggest that plants are not passive features of their environments, but may instead actively behave in ways that determine the productivity ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — Researchers are tapping information found in the cells of all life on Earth, and using it to trace life's ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — Around 390 million years ago, the first vertebrate animals moved from water onto land, necessitating changes in their musculoskeletal systems to permit a terrestrial life. Forelimbs and hind limbs of ... read more

Nov. 30, 2015 — A rare fossil from eastern North America of a dog-sized horned dinosaur has been identified by a scientist. The fossil provides evidence of an east-west divide in North American dinosaur ... read more

Nov. 27, 2015 — Fresh analysis of a reptile fossil is helping scientists solve an evolutionary puzzle -- how snakes lost their limbs. The findings show snakes did not lose their limbs in order to live in the sea, as ... read more

Nov. 26, 2015 — Yin and Yang, Venus and Mars, the Moon and the Sun, however you want to describe it, becoming a female or a male can make a big difference in your life, and not just for human beings. Researchers ... read more

Thursday, December 17, 2015
Wednesday, December 16, 2015
Tuesday, December 15, 2015
Monday, December 14, 2015
Friday, December 11, 2015
Thursday, December 10, 2015
Wednesday, December 9, 2015
Tuesday, December 8, 2015
Tuesday, December 1, 2015
Monday, November 30, 2015
Friday, November 27, 2015
Thursday, November 26, 2015
Wednesday, November 25, 2015
Monday, November 23, 2015
Saturday, November 21, 2015
Wednesday, November 18, 2015
Tuesday, November 17, 2015
Monday, November 16, 2015
Friday, November 13, 2015
Thursday, November 12, 2015
Thursday, November 5, 2015
Wednesday, November 4, 2015
Tuesday, November 3, 2015
Thursday, October 29, 2015
Wednesday, October 28, 2015
Tuesday, October 27, 2015
Monday, October 26, 2015
Thursday, October 22, 2015
Wednesday, October 21, 2015
Tuesday, October 20, 2015
Thursday, October 8, 2015
Wednesday, October 7, 2015
Tuesday, October 6, 2015
Thursday, September 24, 2015
Wednesday, September 23, 2015
Monday, September 21, 2015
Friday, September 18, 2015
Tuesday, September 15, 2015
Monday, September 14, 2015
Friday, September 11, 2015
Tuesday, September 8, 2015
Monday, September 7, 2015
Friday, September 4, 2015
Wednesday, September 2, 2015
Tuesday, September 1, 2015
Monday, August 31, 2015
Thursday, August 27, 2015
Wednesday, August 26, 2015
Tuesday, August 25, 2015
Thursday, August 20, 2015
Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Tuesday, August 18, 2015
Monday, August 17, 2015
Wednesday, August 12, 2015
Tuesday, August 11, 2015
Monday, August 10, 2015
Friday, August 7, 2015
Thursday, August 6, 2015