## Playing System for the 2009 Men's and Women's World Cup

- 1. The tournament will consist of 3 stages.
- 2. In the preliminary stage the 4 continental representatives from Africa, Latin America, North America and Oceania shall compete for an Intercontinental Cup, played on a group basis with all the members of the group playing each other. The winner of this group shall join the remaining 15 players in the 1<sup>st</sup> stage.
- 3. Seeding shall be done according to the latest available World Ranking.
- 4. In the 1<sup>st</sup> stage the players will be divided into 4 equal groups, with all the members of a group playing each other, and in the 2nd stage the group winners and runners-up will compete in a knockout.
- 5. For the 1<sup>st</sup> stage, the highest-ranked player will be placed in Group A, the 2<sup>nd</sup> highest in Group B, the 3<sup>rd</sup> highest in Group C and the 4<sup>th</sup> highest in Group D. The remaining players will be drawn into the groups 4 at a time in ranking order.
- 6. If there are 2 players from the same Association, they will be drawn into separate groups but a 3<sup>rd</sup> player from the same Association may be drawn into any group.
- 7. For the 2<sup>nd</sup> stage, the winners of Groups A and B will be placed in positions 1 and 8 respectively and the winners of groups C and D will be drawn between positions 4 and 5; the runners-up will be drawn into the remaining places, in opposite halves from the winners of the same groups. There will not be separation by Association.
- 8. In the semi-finals, the winner of the 1<sup>st</sup> quarterfinal will play the winner of the 2<sup>nd</sup> and the winner of the 3<sup>rd</sup> will play the winner of the 4<sup>th</sup>; the winners of the semi-finals will play each other in the final, with the losers of the semi-finals playing each other for third place.
- 9. The tournament will be played in accordance with the Laws of Table Tennis and the Regulations for International Competitions.
- 10.All matches shall be the best of 7 games.

Judit Farago Executive Director of Competitions

Graeme Ireland Technical Committee Chairman