## TACOMA YEARLY ALL-STAR GAME SELECTIONS

**BOLD** indicates starter

1960 at Spokane	Tom Haller (c), Jose Pagan (ss), Danny O'Connell (ph),
	Eddie Fisher (p)
1961 at Seattle	Bob Farley (1b), Dick Phillips (3b), Dom Zanni (p), Red Davis (coach)
1962 at Portland	Gil Garrido (ss), Dick Phillips (2b)
1963 at Spokane	Tim Talton (c), Gil Garrido (ss), Danny Rivas (p)
1973 at Albuquerque	Craig Kusick (dh), Glenn Borgmann (c), Charley Manuel (lf),
	Rick Renick (3b)
1974 at Tacoma	Mark Wiley (p), Juan Veintidos (p), Rick Renick (dh),
	Lyman Bostock (rf), Cal Ermer (coach)
1975 at Sacramento	Dave McKay (ss), Eddie Bane (p), Rocky Stone (p)
1988 at Buffalo	Lance Blankenship (2b), Ed Jurak (ss)
1989 at Columbus	Bryan Clark (p)
1990 at Las Vegas	Joe Bitker (p), Scott Chiamparino (p)
1991 at Louisville	Kevin Campbell (p)
1992 at Richmond	Gus Polidor (2b)
1993 at Albuquerque	Kurt Abbott (ss), Webster Garrison (2b), Walt Horn (trainer)
1994 at Nashville	Scott Lydy (of)
1995 at Scranton/Wilkes-Barre	Jeff Darwin (p)
1996 at Salt Lake City	James Bonnici (dh), Greg Pirkl** (1b)
1997 at Des Moines	Brian Raabe (3b), Alan Zinter (c), Dan Rohrmeier (dnp)
1998 at Norfolk	Steve Gajkowski (p), Dave Myers (coach)
1999 at New Orleans	Ozzie Timmons (dh)
2000 at Rochester	Brian Lesher (1b), Ryan Anderson (p), Randy Roetter (trainer)
2001 at	Ramon Vazquez (ss), Juan Thomas (dh), Denny Stark (p), Todd
Betts (1b)	
2002 at Oklahoma City	Dan Rohn (manager), Aaron Holbert (ss), Aquilino Lopez (p)
2003 at Memphis	Pat Borders (c)
2004 at Pawtucket	George Sherrill (p), Bucky Jacobsen** (dh), Scott Atchison (p)
2005 at Sacramento	Masao Kida (p), Felix Hernandez (elected, DNP)
2006 at Toledo	Adam Jones (of – DNP), Mike Curto (radio broadcaster)
2007 at Albuquerque	Adam Jones (of), Justin Lehr (starting pitcher)

\*\* won home run hitting contest

## DICK PHILLIPS WINS 1961 PCL MOST VALUABLE PLAYER AWARD

Dick Phillips is the only Tacoma player to ever win a league MVP award. Phillips led the 1961 Tacoma Giants to a franchise-best 97-57 record, which gave Tacoma it's first league championship. Phillips batted .264-16-98 while walking 94 times with only 55 strikeouts. He played every infield position and every outfield position.

#### **TROY NEEL WINS 1992 BATTING TITLE**

Troy Neel's .351 batting average in 1992 earned him the PCL Batting Crown. Neel is the only Tacoma player to accomplish this feat. He beat out Edmonton's Tim Salmon by .004 points.

#### TACOMA TRIPLE PLAYS

Tacoma has turned nine triple plays since 1960, most recently in 1995 (2B Arquimedez Pozo to 1B Greg Litton). The 1973 Tacoma Twins turned two in one season, with 1B Craig Kusick and SS Bucky Guth participating in both of them.

### TACOMA EARNED RUN AVERAGE CHAMPIONS

Tacoma has had 12 pitchers lead the PCL in earned run average:

1962 – Gaylord Perry - 2.48 1965 – Bill Hands – 2.19 1969 – Jim Colborn – 2.28 1974 – Juan Veintidos – 3.67 1975 – Steve Luebber – 2.39 1977 – Eddie Bane – 4.14 1978 – Larry McCall – 2.93 1982 – Chris Codiroli – 1.90 1994 – Doug Johns – 2.89 1996 – Bob Milacki – 2.74 1997 – Edwin Hurtado – 3.88 1999 – Melvin Bunch – 3.10

#### SIMPSON KRAFT CHENEY STADIUM HALL OF FAME

Inductee	Feats Year I	nducted
Jesus Alou	Star of 1963 T-Giants (.324-11-69), 15 MLB Seasons.	1998
Matty Alou	Hit first Cheney Stadium HR, career .309 hitter in 15 MLB seasons.	1994
Ben Cheney	Tacoma sportsman headed effort to build stadium in 1960.	1990
Red Davis	Managed T-Giants 1960-62. Managed first Tacoma PCL Champions (1961).	1996
Adrian Garrett	Hit Tacoma record 43 HRs in 1971, 272 career minor league HRs.	1993
Gil Garrido	Led PCL shortstops in fielding percentage 1961, 1962, 1963, 1964.	1992
Tom Haller	Hit three HRs in one game at Cheney, 12 seasons as MLB catcher.	1993
Ron Herbel	Record 43 Tacoma wins, Tacoma resident, 9 MLB seasons.	1992
Don Hill	Tacoma radio play-by-play announcer 1960-1984.	1993
Burt Hooton	Struck out 19 batters 8/17/71, posted 1.68 ERA in 1971, 15 MLB seasons.	1996
Clay Huntington	Civic leader helped bring the PCL to Tacoma in 1960, opening night MC.	1992
Tom Kelly	T-Twin 1972-75, 1977; managed two World Series Champions (1987, 1991)	1993
Juan Marichal	Pitched shutout in first Tacoma PCL win, 243 MLB wins, Hall of Fame.	1991
Stan Naccarato	Tacoma General Manager 20 years, put together ownership group in 1971.	1994
Gaylord Perry	Tacoma Giant 1960-63, 314 MLB wins, 2 Cy Young Awards, Hall of Fame.	1991
Dick Phillips	Only Tacoma player to win PCL Most Valuable Player (1961).	1992
Dusty Rhodes	1954 World Series MVP finished career with T-Giants 1960-62.	1991

#### TACOMA PLAYERS WHO LED THE PCL IN HOME RUNS

1968 – Clarence Jones, 24 1971 – Adrian Garrett, 43 1976 – Bob Gorinski, 28

# TACOMA YEARLY ALL-STAR GAME SELECTIONS

BOLD indicates starter

1960 at Spokane	Tom Haller (c), Jose Pagan (ss), Danny O'Connell (ph),	
	Eddie Fisher (p)	
1961 at Seattle	Bob Farley (1b), Dick Phillips (3b), Dom Zanni (p), Red Davis (coach)	
1962 at Portland	Gil Garrido (ss), Dick Phillips (2b)	
1963 at Spokane	Tim Talton (c), Gil Garrido (ss), Danny Rivas (p)	
1973 at Albuquerque	Craig Kusick (dh), Glenn Borgmann (c), Charley Manuel (lf),	
Rick Renick (3b)		
1974 at Tacoma	Mark Wiley (p), Juan Veintidos (p), Rick Renick (dh),	
	Lyman Bostock (rf), Cal Ermer (coach)	
1975 at Sacramento	Dave McKay (ss), Eddie Bane (p), Rocky Stone (p)	
1988 at Buffalo	Lance Blankenship (2b), Ed Jurak (ss)	
1989 at Columbus	Bryan Clark (p)	
1990 at Las Vegas	Joe Bitker (p), <b>Scott Chiamparino</b> (p)	
1991 at Louisville	Kevin Campbell (p)	
1992 at Richmond	Gus Polidor (2b)	
1993 at Albuquerque	Kurt Abbott (ss), Webster Garrison (2b), Walt Horn (trainer)	
1994 at Nashville	Scott Lydy (of)	
1995 at Scranton/Wilkes-Barre	Jeff Darwin (p)	
1996 at Salt Lake City	James Bonnici (dh), Greg Pirkl (1b)	
1997 at Des Moines	Brian Raabe (3b), Alan Zinter (c), Dan Rohrmeier (dnp)	
1998 at Norfolk	Steve Gajkowski (p), Dave Myers (coach)	
1999 at New Orleans	Ozzie Timmons (dh)	