Help?   Sitemap   Contact
: 0   View Cart
BiographiesMP3sOn TourBooking InfoLinks

"Hello" is quite an apt name for the new Half Japanese album considering it has been 4 years since their last album. But, it hasn't been a complete absence since their driving force and principle songwriter Jad Fair has released a dozen new albums in that time under different monikers or together with different bands, such as Jad Fair & Yo La Tengo, Adult Rodeo, Jad & Jason, Strobe, Jad & Kramer, and soon there will even be a Jad Fair & Teenage Fanclub release. But, the last 2 Half Japanese albums came out in 1997 one of which was "bonehead" on Alternative Tentacles.

Jad Fair is an international ambassador of rock'n'roll. He really doesnąt have a "home" since he is continually travelling around playing live in various line-ups or recording with friends in Switzerland, Canada, Portugal, Scotland, Spain(we will be releasing at least one of those latest collaborations in mid-2001) and you name it! And his main band, Half Japanese - that he formed with his brother David over 20 years - is continually listed high in the "all time cult bands" charts and is touted internationally. There is even a documentary about the band well worth checking out entitled "The Band That Would Be King". Drag City recently (mid-2000) re-issued 2 Half Japanese albums and in Japan there are already "greatest hits" albums.

"Hello" is an excellent mix of what Half Japanese are all about : eclectic indie-rock maliciously deviating from standard chord structures, nerd-punk diatribes, and beautiful love songs dripping in maple syrup. The line-up this time features : John Sluggett - guitar, keyboards; Gilles Rieder ­ drums; Jason Willett - bass, guitar, keyboards; Rob Erickson - guitar, backing vocals; Dallas Good ­ guitar; Jad Fair - vocals, guitar. It was recorded in Toronto at Hallamusic by Nick Holmes.

See also Jad Fair and Jason Willett

"Jump Into"
"Red Sun"
"Best Of The Best"
Taken from virus245Hello

List all available merchandise by Half Japanese

1999 Enjoyable Songs
2000 Ecstasy of the Agony
2001 Hello
2001 20 Pop Songs
2002 Apocalypse Always
2013 Ready! Get! Go!

Other Releases

2007 FairMoore

HomeAT FAQSitemapContactOrder Info © 2004 Alternative Tentacles