

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

CONTACT
Jill Johnson, 404-522-8144 or jill@gavoters.com

Georgia Conservation Voters Releases General Assembly Endorsements

ATLANTA (October 14, 2010) – Today, Georgia Conservation Voters released their 2010 general election endorsements for the General Assembly. Their endorsements include ten Senate candidates and twenty House candidates.

"We are delighted to endorse these pro-environment candidates from both parties who have demonstrated their commitment to protecting Georgia's natural resources," said Chris Osborne, Executive Director of Georgia Conservation Voters. "It's encouraging that we have both Republican and Democratic candidates who agree that protecting our water, land and air is critical to a thriving future in Georgia."

In addition to questionnaires completed by candidates describing their positions on current conservation issues and interviews, GCV also considers their records, experience, leadership and viability as well as the input of local conservationists when deciding whether to support a candidate.

Georgia Conservation Voters Action Fund, the only pro-conservation PAC in Georgia, is actively working to elect and re-elect select pro-conservation candidates to office through voter contact.

"More than ever, Georgia needs leaders whose vision includes ensuring we have clean water to drink, clean air to breathe and natural areas for our families to play," said Osborne. "At Georgia Conservation Voters, we are dedicated not only to passing laws to protect the environment, but helping elect leaders who will protect our quality of life for future generations."

Below are Georgia Conservation Voters' endorsements as of October 14, 2010. Names in italics represent candidates endorsed before the primary election. For updates, please visit www.gavoters.com.

SENATE
District 2 – Sen. Lester Jackson (DSavannah)
District 5 – Sen. Curt Thompson (D-Tucker)
District 6 – Sen. Doug Stoner (D-Smyrna)
District 34 – Sen. Valencia Seay (DRiverdale)
District 38 – Sen. Horacena Tate (DAtlanta)

District 40 – Sen. Vincent Fort (D-Atlanta)
District 41 – Sen. Steve Henson (D-Tucker)
District 43 – Sen. Ronald Ramsey (D-Decatur)
District 50 – Sen. Jim Butterworth (R-Cornelia)
District 53 – Sen. Jeff Mullis (R-Chickamauga)

HOUSE
District 13 – Rep. Katie Dempsey (R)
District 32 – Rep. Judy Manning (R-Marietta)
District 34 – Rep. Rich Golick (R-Smyrna)
District 37 – Rep. Terry Johnson (D-Marietta)
District 38 – Rep. Pat Dooley (D-Marietta)
District 38 – Rep. Pat Dooley (D-Marietta)
District 40 – Stacey Evans (D-Smyrna)
District 44 – Rep. Sheila Jones (D-Atlanta)
District 55 – Rep. Rashad Taylor (D-Atlanta)
District 74 – Rep. Roberta Abdul-Salaam
(D-Atlanta)
District 78 – Rep. Glenn Baker (D-

Jonesboro)

District 80 – Rep. Mike Jacobs (R-Atlanta)
District 85 – Rep. Stephanie Benfield (D-Decatur)

District 94 – Dar'shun Kendrick (D-Lithonia)
District 95 – Pam Dickerson (D-Conyers)

District 96 – Rep. Pedro Marin (D-Duluth)
District 124 – Rep. Sistie Hudson (D-Sparta)
District 140 – Rep. "Bubber" Epps (D-Dry Branch)
District 150 – Rep. Winfred Dukes (D-Albany)

District 158 – Jan Tankersley (R-Brooklet)
District 177 – Rep. Mark Hatfield (R-Waycross)

###

Georgia Conservation Voters works to preserve and enhance the quality of life for all Georgians by making conservation issues a top priority with Georgia's elected officials, political candidates and voters. For more information, visit www.gavoters.com.