

## **Speakers of the Legislative Assembly**

Name	Period in Office
Sir James George Lee Steere, KCMG Member for Nelson Independent	30 Dec 1890 - 30 Nov 1903
Hon. Charles Harper Member for Beverley Forrest	2 Dec 1903 - 27 July 1904
<b>Hon. Timothy Francis <i>Quinlan</i></b> Member for Toodyay Liberal	23 Nov 1905 - 8 Oct 1911
Hon. Michael Francis <i>Troy</i> Member for Mount Magnet Labor	1 Nov 1911 - 13 Feb 1917
Hon. Edward Bertram <i>Johnston</i> Member for Williams-Narrogin Country Party	13 Feb 1917 - 1 Mar 1917
Hon. James Gardiner Member for Irwin Country Party	1 Mar 1917 - 28 June 1917
Hon. George <i>Taylor</i> Member for Mount Margaret National	19 July 1917 - 23 July 1924
Hon. Thomas Walker Member for Kanowna Australian Labor Party	24 July 1924 - 29 July 1930
Hon. Sydney Stubbs Member for Wagin Country Party	30 July 1930 - 17 July 1933
Hon. Alexander Hugh <i>Panton</i> , CMG Member for Leederville Australian Labor Party	18 July 1933 - 24 Mar 1938
<b>Hon. William Dartnell <i>Johnson</i></b> Member for Guildford-Midland Australian Labor Party	4 Aug 1938 - 2 Aug 1939
Hon. Joseph Bertram <i>Sleeman</i> Member for Fremantle Australian Labor Party	3 Aug 1939 - 31 July 1947
Hon. Charles Frederic John North Member for Claremont Liberal	31 July 1947 - 5 Aug 1953

Name	Period in Office		
Hon. Aloysius Joseph Rodoreda Member for Pilbara Australian Labor Party	6 Aug 1953 - 1 Aug 1956		
Hon. James Hegney Member for Mount Hawthorn Australian Labor Party	2 Aug 1956 - 29 June 1959		
Hon. John Merrifield <i>Hearman</i> , CMG Member for Blackwood Liberal	30 June 1959 - 23 Mar 1968		
Hon. Hugh Norman <i>Guthrie</i> Member for Subiaco Liberal	25 July 1968 - 20 Feb 1971		
Hon. John Mervin <i>Toms</i> Member for Ascot Australian Labor Party	15 July 1971 - 8 Oct 1971		
Hon. Daniel Norton Member for Gascoyne Australian Labor Party	16 Nov 1971 - 30 Mar 1974		
Hon. (Sir) Ross <i>Hutchinson</i> , DFC Member for Cottesloe Liberal	22 May 1974 - 19 Feb 1977		
Hon. lan David <i>Thompson</i> Member for Kalamunda Liberal	24 May 1977 - 21 Mar 1983		
Hon. John Joseph <i>Harman</i> Member for Maylands Australian Labor Party	22 May 1983 - 8 Feb 1986		
Hon. Michael <i>Barnett</i> , JP Member for Rockingham Australian Labor Party	10 June 1986 - 17 June 1993		
Hon. James George <i>Clarko</i> Member for Marmion Liberal	17 June 1993 - 14 Dec 1996		
Hon. George Joseph <i>Strickland</i> Member for Innaloo Liberal	6 Mar 1997 - 10 Feb 2001		
Hon. Fredrick <i>Riebeling</i> Member for Burrup Australian Labor Party	1 May 2001 - 6 Sept 2008		
Hon. Grant Allen Woodhams Member for Moore National Party of Australia	6 Nov 2008 -		

## Source

Black, David and John Mandy (editors). *The Western Australian Parliamentary Handbook.* Perth, W.A.: Western Australian Parliamentary History Project, 2002.

Members of Parliament Current by Name. Perth, WA: Parliament of Western Australia, 2008 website address: http://www.parliament.wa.gov.au/web/newwebparl.nsf/iframewebpages/Members+-+Current

## WE VALUE YOUR FEEDBACK

The Parliamentary Library welcomes your comments on our series of Scope Notes. To help us provide a more user-friendly and relevant service we would appreciate you taking a few moments to complete this form.

For your purposes,	did you find this	s Scope Note.				
1. ρ Very informative	2. ρ	3. ρ	4. ρ	5. $\rho$ Not at all informative		
1. ρ Easy to understand	2. ρ	3. ρ	4. ρ	5. ρ Difficult to understand		
This Scope Note wa	as useful for					
ρ Work ρ	) Study	ho General in	nterest $ ho$ Oth	ner		
Other comments and suggested topics for future Scope Notes:						
If you require a reply, please print your name and contact details below:  Name						
Contact details						
Please return to: Parliamentary Libr Parliament House Perth WA 6000	ary					

Australia

Fax: +61 8 9222 7859

If you prefer, please email, library@parliament.wa.gov.au