EPS-Condensed Matter Division Europhysics Prize

Recipients

2014	Harold Y. Hwang, Jochen Mannhart and Jean-Marc Triscone For the discovery and investigation of electron liquids at oxide interfaces.
2012	Steven Bramwell, Claudio Castelnovo, Santiago Grigera, Roderich Moessner, Shivaji Sondhi and Alan Tennant For the prediction and experimental observation of magnetic monopoles in spin ice.
2010	Hartmut Buhmann, Charles Kane, Eugene Mele, Laurens W. Molenkamp and Shoucheng Zhang For the theoretical prediction and the experimental observation of the quantum spin Hall effect and topological insulators.
2008	Andre Geim and Kostya Novoselov For discovering and isolating a single free-standing atomic layer of carbon(graphene) and elucidating its remarkable electronic properties.
2006	Antoine Georges, Gabriel Kotliar, Walter Metzner, Dieter Vollhardt For the development and application of the dynamical mean field theory.
2005	David Awschalom, Tomasz Dietl, Hideo Ohno For their work on ferromagnetic semiconductors and spintronics.
2004	Michel Devoret, Daniel Esteve, Johan Mooij, Yasunobu Nakamura For the realisation and demonstration of the quantum bit concept based on superconducting circuits.
2003	Heino Finkelmann, Mark Warner For the discovery of a new class of materials called liquid crystal elastomers.
2002	Bernard Barbara, Jonathan Friedman, Dante Gatteschi, Roberta Sessoli, Wolfgang Wernsdorfer For the development of the field of quantum dynamics of nanomagnets, including the discovery of quantum tunnelling and interference in dynamics of magnetization.
2001	Sumio lijima, Cees Dekker, Thomas W. Ebbesen, Paul L. McEuen Discovery of multi-and single-walled carbon nanotubes and pioneering studies of their fundamental mechanical and electronic properties.
2000	P. Carra, G. van der Laan, G. Schütz Pioneering work in establishing the field of magnetic x-ray dichroism.
1999	C. Glallti, M. Reznikov For developing novel techniques for noise measurements in solids leading to experimental observation of carriers with a fractional charge.

- M. T. Rice
 For original contributions to the theory of strongly correlated electron systems.
 A. Fert, P. Gruenberg, S. S. P. Parkin
 For the discovery and contribution to the understanding of the giant magneto resistance effect in transition-metal multilayers and demonstrations of its potential for
 technological applications.
 R.H. Friend
- For pioneering work on semiconducting organic polymer materials and demonstration of an organic light emitting diodes.
- 1995 Yakir Aharonov, Michael V. Berry
 For the introduction of fundamental concepts in physics that have profound impact on
 condensed matter science.
- D.R. Huffman, W. Krätschmer, H.W. Kroto, R.E. Smalley

 For new molecular forms of carbon and their production in the solid state.
- 1993 B.L. Altshuler, A.G. Aronov, D.E. Khmelnitskii, A.I. Larkin, B. Spivak For theoretical work on coherent phenomena in disordered conductors.
- 1992 G. Ertl, H. Ibach, J. Peter Toennies

 For pioneering studies of surface structures, dynamics and reactions through the development of novel experimental methods.
- 1991 K. Bechgaard, D. Jérome

 For synthesis of a new class of organic metals and the discovery of their superconductivity and novel magnetic properties.
- 1990 R. Car, M. Parrinello For a novel and powerful method for the ab-initio calculation of molecular dynamics.
- 1989 F. Steglich, H.-R. Ott, G.G. Lonzarich For pioneering investigations of heavy-fermion metals.
- 1988 J.G. Bednorz, K.A. Müller

 For the discovery of high-temperature superconductivity.
- 1987 I.K. Yanson

 For point-contact spectroscopy in metals.
- 1986 F. Mezei
 For neutron spin echo spectroscopy.
- J. Als-Nielsen, M. Pepper For the experimental study of low dimensional physics.
- 1984 G.K. Binnig, H. Rohrer For the scanning tunnelling microscope.
- 1983 A.F. Silvera For atomic and solid hydrogen.

1982	K. von Klitzing For experimental demonstration of the quantized Hall resistance.
1980	O.K. Andersen, A.R. Miedema For original methods for the calculation of the electronic properties of materials.
1979	E.A. Ash, J.H. Collins, Y.V. Gulaev, K.A. Ingebrigtsen, E.G.S. Paige For the physical principles of surface acoustic wave devices.
1978	Z.I. Alferov For heterojunctions.
1977	W.E. Spear For amorphous silicon devices.
1976	W. Helfrich For contributions to the physics of liquid crystal.
1975	V.S. Bagaev, L.V. Keldysh, J.E. Pokrovsky, M. Voos For the condensation of excitons.