#### STATEMENT FROM THE PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE

The Prime Minister and his Cabinet Ministers will be sworn into office by the President on 2 January 1985.

The present Cabinet and all Ministers of State, Parliamentary Secretaries and Political Secretaries will relinquish office on 1 January 1985.

The following are members of the new Cabinet:

- (1) Lee Kuan Yew Prime Minister
- (2) S Rajaratnam Senior Minister (PMO)
- (3) \*Goh Chok Tong First Deputy Prime Minister and

  Minister for Defence
- (4) Ong Teng Cheong Second Deputy Prime Minister
  - (5) E W Barker Minister for Law
  - (6) Teh Cheang Wan Minister for National Development
  - (7) S Dhanabalan Minister for Foreign Affairs and

Minister for Community

Development

- (8) DR Tony Tan Minister for Finance,
  - Minister for Education and
  - Minister for Health
- (9) DR Ahmad Mattar Minister for the Environment
- (10) DR Yeo Ning Hong Minister for Communications and

Information, 2<sup>nd</sup> Minister for

Defence and 2<sup>nd</sup> Minister for

National Development

- (11) S Jayakumar Minister for Home Affairs and 2<sup>nd</sup>
  - Minister for Law
- (12) DR Richard Hu Minister for Trade and Industry
- \* Mr Goh Chok Tong will act as Prime Minister when the Prime Minister is away.
- Mr Ong Teng Cheong will act as Prime Minister when both, the Prime

Minister and Mr Goh Chok Tong, are absent or unable to do so.

He will not have any portfolio. He will continue to serve in the NTUC.

Mr Rajaratnam's protocol precedence after the Prime Minister is their deference to his personal position as the last member of the Prime Minister's original 1959 Cabinet.

DR Tony Tan will relinquish the Ministry of Finance in April 1985 after the Budget Debate and take over the Ministry of Trade and Industry from DR Richard Hu, who will become the Minister for Finance.

Mr Lee Yock Suan will be appointed Senior Minister of State and will be the Ag Minister for Labour.

The Ministry of Social Affairs will be enlarged by several portfolios from the Ministry of Culture to become the Ministry of Community Development.

The remaining portfolios of the Ministry of Culture will go to the Ministry of Communications and Information.

#### Ministers of State

(1) DR Tay Eng Soon Ministry of Education and

Ministry of Communications and

Information

(2) DR Wong Kwei Cheong - Ministry of Trade and Industry

(3) DR Wan Soon Bee - Prime Minister's Office

(4) Ch'ng Jit Koon - Ministry of Community

Development

(5) Yeo Cheow Tong - Ministry of Health and Ministry of

Foreign Affairs

(6) Wong Kan Seng - Ministry of Home Affairs and

Ministry of Community

Development

(7) Lee Hsien Loong - Ministry of Defence and Ministry

of Trade and Industry

Mr Yeo Cheow Tong and Mr Wong Kan Seng will assume duties only with effect from mid-February 1985.

# Senior Parliamentary Secretaries

(1) Phua Bah Lee - Ministry of Defence

(2) Chin Harn Tong - Ministry of Home Affairs

(3) Lee Yiok Seng Ministry of National Development

(4) Ho Kah Leong - Ministry of Education

(5) Eugene Yap - Ministry of Labour

### Parliamentary Secretaries

(1) Sidek Bin Saniff - Ministry of Trade and Industry

(2) Teo Chong Tee - Ministry of Community

## Development

(3) Wan Hussin Zoohri - Ministry of Communications and

Information

(4) DR Lee Boon Yang - Ministry of Communications and

Information and Ministry of the

Environment

DR Lee Boon Yang will assume duties only with effect from 1 February 1985.

## Political Secretaries

(1) Lau Ping Sum - Ministry of Health

(2) Ng Pock Too - Prime Minister's Office

PRIME MINISTER'S OFFICE hives of Singapore

31 DECEMBER 1984 TIME ISSUED: 1830 HOURS