

European Choral Association - Europa Cantat Weberstr, 59a • 53113 Bonn

PRESS RELEASE Bonn, 18/4/2012 General Secretariat c/o Haus der Kultur Weberstr. 59a 53113 Bonn Germany

Phone +49(228)9125663 Fax +49(228)9125658

Mail info@EuropeanChoralAssociation.org info@eca-ec.org

Web www.EuropeanChoralAssociation.org www.eca-ec.org

<u>European Award for Choral Composers 2012 - Results</u> Jury selects 3 winners from choral compositions submitted from all over Europe Two special mentions also awarded

On April 16th 2012 the Jury of the European Award for Choral Composers, comprised of Jonathan Rathbone (UK – chair), Alessandro Cadario (IT), Nicola Campogrande (IT), Marjeta Naglic (SI), Eva Ugalde (ES) and Maria van Nieukerken (NL) chose the winning compositions of the European Award for Choral Composers 2012 of the European Choral Association – Europa Cantat.

The European Award for Choral Composers is the continuation of the "Golden Tuning Fork" Award, organised by AGEC over many years, and was first organised by the European Choral Association – Europa Cantat in 2011/2012. Member organisations of the European Choral Association were invited to submit compositions for the following three categories: (A) a cappella choir (classical), (B) choir accompanied by up to four instruments (classical), (C) jazz composition for a cappella choir or choir accompanied by up to three instruments - with a maximum of 3 works per category to be submitted by one organisation.

38 compositions were submitted to the competition by **member organisations in 11 European countries**, with 28 compositions in category A and 10 in category B.

In category A (a cappella) the jury chose one winning composition:

"Bestiaire fantasque" (2011) for children's choirs, composed by Pierre Chépélov (FR *1979), Text Claude Roy submitted by IFAC (Institut Français d'Art Choral)

In addition the Jury chose two compositions for a special mention:

"Kuule mu palve häält" (Hear My Prayer - 2011) for male choirs, composed by Pärt Uusberg (EE *1986) submitted by the Estonian Choral Association

"The Train" (2011/12) for mixed choirs, composed by Uršula Jašovec (SI *1986) submitted by JSKD, the Public Fund of the Republic of Slovenia for Cultural Activities

In category B (with instruments) the jury chose two winning compositions, very diverse in character but both of an excellent quality:

"Gloria Kajoniensis" (2008 - Kontrapunktmusic) for female choirs, composed by Levente Gyöngyösi (HU *1975) submitted by KÓTA, Association of Hungarian Choirs and Orchestras and

"1914" (2009) for male choirs, composed by Maarten Van Ingelgem (BE *1976) submitted by Koor&Stem

The winning compositions will be performed in the festival EUROPA CANTAT XVIII in Turin, Italy, between July 27th and August 4th 2012.

The next edition of the European Award for Choral Composers will be organised in 2014, with the winning compositions being performed in the Festival EUROPA CANTAT XIX in 2015.





