

# PRESENTATION OF NATIONAL ORDERS UNION BUILDINGS, TSHWANE 27 SEPTEMBER 2006

10:30 - 12:30

- 1. Nominees of the National Orders and guests take their seats
- 2. Arrival of President Thabo Mbeki and Mrs Zanele Mbeki
- 3. The National Anthem
- 4. Word of welcome by the Chancellor of National Orders
- 5. Ceremonial oration by the Grand Patron of National Orders
- 6. Investiture of the National Orders
- o THE ORDER OF MENDI FOR BRAVERY
- o THE ORDER OF IKHAMANGA
- o THE ORDER OF MAPUNGUBWE
- 7. The President, the Chancellor, together with recipients of National Orders proceed to the upper lawns on the western side of the Union Buildings' West Wing for a photo opportunity
- 8. Guests proceed to the marquee on the western lawns of the Union Buildings

### Luncheon

Grand Patron of National Orders President Thabo Mbeki Chancellor of National Orders Rev Frank Chikane

The Advisory Council on National Orders:

Ms M. Burton, Mr FG Brownell, Prof B Figaji, Dr J Kani, Mr AM Kathrada, Prof C Landman, Ms R Mompati, Bishop M Mpumlwana, Mr MMTB Msimang, Dr Y Muthien (Chairperson), Lt-Gen G Ramano, Ms S Williams-De Bruyn

## Recipients

01 02	ORDER OF MENDI FOR BRAVERY BRONZE Elizabeth Gumede (1921 – ) Marcel Christian van Rossum (1966 – )
03 04	SILVER Adolphus Mvemve (1931 – 1974) George Phela (1971 – 1995)
05 06	GOLD Benson Tsele (1932 – 1968) Bhambatha Ka Mancinza Zondi (1866 – 1906)
07 08 09 10	ORDER OF IKHAMANGA BRONZE Christian Ashley-Botha (1944 – ) Matlhaela Michael Masote (1941 – ) Oscar Pistorius (1986 – ) Sibusiso Vilane (1970 – ) Herbert Woodhouse (1919 – )
12 13 14 15 16 17 18	SILVER Willie Bester (1956 – ) André Brink (1935 – ) Yvonne Bryceland (1925 – 1992) Thandi Klaasen Abigail Kubeka (1941 – ) Esther Mahlangu (1935 – ) Dorothy Masuka (1935 – ) Donato Francisco Mattera (1935 – )

## Recipients

```
Ryk Neethling (1981 – )
Roland Schoeman (1980 – )
George Singh (1930 – 1984)
Canodoise Daniel Themba (1942 – 1968)

GOLD
Alan Stewart Paton (1903 – 1988)
Tiyo Soga (1829 – 1871)

ORDER OF MAPUNGUBWE
SILVER

Selig Percy Amoils (1933 – )
Patricia Berjak (1939 – )
Lionel Opie (1933 – )
```



### FROM THE CHANCELLOR OF THE NATIONAL ORDERS, 27 SEPTEMBER 2006

There are hallowed moments in the life of a free nation like South Africa which provide a brief respite to reflect on the people who have made us what we are. So, once again, South Africa pauses as its President bestows the highest honours on those who make us so proud to be citizens of this land.

It is the time to accord them their dues, and, as we pause, to praise them.

They come from diverse avenues of life, ranging from the brave to the gifted; from physiques which excel to minds that soar; from the realms of healing to the stage; from music to art, and beyond. They include tested and gallant scribes who charted the course of events and those whose books shone so brilliantly with literary genius.

The awards are made for various broad pursuits and in different classes. For instance, today we shall be saluting historic acts and campaigns of bravery, such as that of Bhambatha Zondi in his historic rebellion against the poll tax in colonial times; we shall honour Rhodes scholar Doctor Lionel Opie, who did so much to nurture the health of our hearts; a pioneering actress Yvonne Bryceland, who shot to stage fame and had her share in making the name Athol Fugard legendary; an unforgettable black journalist, Can Themba; with an indelible pen; the epochal writer Alan Paton and the renowned Andrè Brink; Sibusiso Vilane, the conqueror of Everest and other peaks; music's Thandi Klaasen; and so on.

In this brief moment which we have available to offer our commendation, we are acutely conscious of the fact that our democracy is deepening by the day, and of the huge debt we owe people such as these luminaries for having helped make it all possible. So, encouraged, we gird ourselves for the tasks and challenges that lie ahead, and we feel refreshed and better informed after spending this special time to honour and reflect on excellence, in these appropriate surrounds.

Frank Chikane Chancellor of the National Orders



### OF THE GRAND PATRON OF THE NATIONAL ORDERS: THABO MBEKI, 27 SEPTEMBER 2006

In the name of the people, I welcome you to the Union Buildings, the seat of government.

This ceremony is convened to admit into the ranks of the Order of Mendi, the Order of Ikhamanga and the Order of Mapungubwe, men and women who deserve high tribute for what they have done to enrich our lives and to make it possible for our diverse nation to proclaim itself an adherent of the ancient values of ubuntu.

This is the eighth time that our free people have had occasion to salute in humble gratitude such distinguished men and women who are, indeed, the stars on our firmament. Today, they are admitted into the ranks of those who belong to the esteemed National Orders of our Republic. Because of their efforts, we are able to live and develop in a world of freedom, without the fetters of oppression or exclusion.

The honours that we bestow today tell the story of what and who we are and who we shall be. These National Orders represent the nobility of human endeavour, constituting a hall of fame that will, today, be enriched by new and distinguished members.

We have convened today at the seat of government, the Union Buildings, to award the Order of Mendi for Bravery to our brave hearts, those who gave or risked their lives so that others may live. These South Africans, for whom human life is priceless, have reaffirmed the principle borne of struggle, of the right to life.

They have confronted clear and present danger of one kind or another, with full knowledge of the potential harm to themselves, to save human life and limb. They vanquished the natural instinct of self-preservation with the same courage and willingness to sacrifice for the greater good that was demonstrated by the heroes of the SS Mendi. By their deeds, they re-affirmed our philosophy of ubuntu - we are because of you!

We have convened today at the seat of government, the Union Buildings, to admit to the Order of Ikhamanga, our leading cultural workers and sportsmen and women. All of them have contributed to the pride we as a nation feel in our achievements that celebrate our inner African and human soul.

Their accomplishments are representative of the wealth of human imagination and talent brought forth from our continent, which has, since time immemorial, endowed the planet earth with the things of beauty that are products of human creativity.

We have convened today at the seat of government, the Union Buildings, to admit some exceptional persons to the Order of Mapungubwe. These are people whose activities cannot but be described as excellent.

They are the men and women who dared to act outside the boundaries of the ordinary, taking upon themselves the skill and daring of