

# PRELIMINARY COMPETITION **AFRICA**



### **BASIC CONDITIONS**

Member Associations (MAs):	53
Participating Member Associations (PMAs):	53*
Qualification Slots:	5+1*

<sup>\*</sup>Including host South Africa

RD1	RD2	RD3
_		
	35 55	

### **PARTICIPATING MEMBER ASSOCIATIONS**

1.	Cameroon
2.	Nigeria

3. Côte d'Ivoire

4. Morocco

5. Ghana

6. Tunisia

7. Egypt

8. Guinea

9. Senegal

10. Mali

11. Angola

12. Togo

13. Zambia

14. South Africa

15. Cape Verde Islands

16. Congo DR

17. Algeria

18. Burkina Faso

19. Benin

20. Mozambique

21. Libya

22. Ethiopia

23. Congo

24. Zimbabwe

25. Uganda

26. Botswana

27. Equatorial Guinea

28. Tanzania

29. Gabon

30. Malawi

31. Sudan

51. Suuaii

32. Burundi 33. Liberia

34. Rwanda

35. Eritrea

36. Namibia

37. Gambia

38. Mauritania

39. Kenya

40. Chad

41. Lesotho

42. Mauritius

43. Niger

44. Swaziland

45. Seychelles

46. Sierra Leone

47. Madagascar

48. Comoros

49. Central African Republic

50. Guinea-Bissau

51. Somalia

52. Djibouti

53. São Tomé e Príncipe

As per the FIFA ranking of July 2007

## **PRELIMINARY COMPETITION**

#### ROUND ONE

- The 10 lowest ranked PMAs (as per the FIFA ranking of July 2007) will contest Round One.
- The teams will be paired into 5 home-and-away series.
- The winners of each series will advance to Round Two.



# PRELIMINARY COMPETITION AFRICA



### **ROUND TWO**

- The 5 Round One series winners will then join the 43 remaining PMAs (incl. South Africa) in Round Two.
- The 48 teams will then be grouped into 12 round-robin, home-and-away groups of 4 teams.
- The group winners and 8 best runners-up will advance to Round Three.

### **ROUND THREE**

- The 12 Round Two group winners and 8 best Round Two group runners-up will contest Round Three, the final stage.
- The 20 teams will then be grouped into 5 round-robin, home-and-away groups of 4 teams.
- **1** The 5 group winners from Round Three qualify for the FIFA World Cup<sup>™</sup>.
- **③** South Africa to participate in the FIFA World Cup<sup>™</sup> as host.

South Africa will participate in the Preliminary Competition of the FIFA World  $Cup^{TM}$  as the competition also serves as the qualifying competition for the Africa Cup of Nations. If qualified for Round Three, South Africa will play in its group. The points it obtains will count towards the Africa Cup of Nations but not for the FIFA World  $Cup^{TM}$ .

### FIXTURE AND DRAW INFORMATION: 2007

#### **ROUND ONE**

The Organizing Committee for the FIFA World Cup South Africa 2010<sup>™</sup> decided on the following pairings for Round One:

- 1. Seychelles vs. Djibouti
- 2. Sierra Leone vs. Guinea Bissau
- 3. Central African Republic vs. São Tomé e Príncipe
- 4. Somalia vs. Swaziland
- 5. Madagascar vs. Comoros