National Monuments in State Care: Ownership & Guardianship

4th March 2009

Tipperary North



National Monuments Service Seirbhís na Séadcomharthaí Náisiúnta

Disclaimer

These data sets are based on records many of which date to the late nineteenth or early twentieth centuries. Research to clarify the number and exact extent of some of the monuments brought into care, is ongoing. Consequently, the information presented here should be considered as a work in progress and changes will be implemented from time to time. While every effort has been made in preparing this data no responsibility is accepted by or on behalf of the State for any errors, omissions or misleading statements on these pages or any website to which these pages connect.

NATIONAL MONUMENTS IN STATE CARE

What is a National Monument?

The term 'national monument' as defined in Section 2 of the National Monuments Act (1930) means a monument 'the preservation of which is a matter of national importance by reason of the historical, architectural, traditional, artistic or archaeological interest attaching thereto...'

What is a National Monument in State Care?

National monuments in State care include those which are in the ownership or guardianship of the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government (DEHLG). Other owners of national monuments are empowered under Section 5 of the National Monuments Act (1930) to appoint the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government as guardian of such monuments. This means in effect that while the property of such a monument remains vested in the owner, its maintenance and upkeep are the responsibility of the State.

Monuments which may be defined as national monuments are also in the ownership or guardianship of Local Authorities which have similar responsibilities under the National Monuments Acts (1930-2004) to DEHLG. These monuments are not included in the data sets presented here.

How many National Monuments are in State Care?

In October 1874 the first group of monuments, those on the Rock of Cashel, Co. Tipperary, was taken into State care. Since then, over 1,000 individual monuments at 760 locations, have been taken into ownership or guardianship. These range from megalithic tombs of the neolithic period to medieval churches and castles, industrial mills and historic buildings of more recent times. One of the core functions of the National Monuments Service is to ensure the preservation of the monuments in its care for the benefit and enjoyment of present and future generations. To view a list of monuments in state care go to www.archaeology.ie.

Who looks after National Monuments in State Care?

A partnership of the National Monument Services of the Department of the Environment, Heritage and Local Government and the Office of Public Works, looks after the national monuments in State care. The conservation and presentation of these monuments is project-managed by the OPW with responsibility for the archaeological aspects of projects resting with DEHLG. The consent of the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government is required for any works at or in proximity to national monuments in State care.

The country is divided into six works districts, each with a team of specialist craftsmen and general operatives reporting to a district works manager, under the general direction of a senior conservation architect. www.opw.ie.

Which National Monuments can I visit?

Not all monuments in State care are open or accessible to the public. To view those which provide visitor facilities go to www.heritageireland.ie.



National Monuments in State Care Database

This list of National Monuments in State care includes those which are in the ownership and guardianship of the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government. Over 1,000 individual monuments at 760 locations are represented. In most cases, each entry on the list represents an individual monument however, where a group of monuments form a discreet entity e.g. LoughCrew passage tomb cemetery, Glendalough monastic settlement, these are treated as one entry.

Format of the database

The database contains the following fields:

- 1. **NAME:** This is the common or popular name of the monument or group of monuments. In the absence of a commonly known name the townland name is used.
- 2. **DESCRIPTION:** This identifies the type of monument e.g. castle, church, passage tomb cemetery, etc. The terminology used does not strictly follow the classification of the Archaeological Survey of Ireland (ASI) e.g. the term 'ringfort' is used for earthen forts and 'cashel' is used for stone forts.
- 3. **TOWNLAND:** The townland names used are in accordance with those used by the Ordnance Survey. If a monument extends over more than one townland, all townlands will be listed.
- 4. **COUNTY:** The county in which the monument is situated.
- 5. **LEGAL STATUS:** This indicates whether the site is in the ownership or guardianship of the Minister for the Environment, Heritage and Local Government.
- 6. **RMP NUMBER:** Each monument is entered in the Record of Monuments and Places (RMP) as established under Section 12 of the National Monuments (Amendment) Act 1994. A unique identifying number is assigned to each monument and place in the record. The RMP number provides the link to the records of the Archaeological Survey of Ireland (ASI) which contains further information on the monument in question.
- 7. **NATIONAL MONUMENT NUMBER:** When a monument is taken into State ownership or guardianship its details are added to a National Monuments Register. In the earlier years, when a number of monuments were taken in State care at the same time, they were all given the same register number e.g. the monuments on the Dingle peninsula are all registered under number 221. Similarly, groups of monument such as the passage tombs at Lough Crew will have the same registration number. The register is not entirely up-to-date with the result that some of the more recent acquisitions have yet to be assigned numbers.



NAME	DESCRIPTION	TOWNLAND	COUNTY	LEG_STATUS	RMP NUMBER	Nat_Mon_No
Lackeen Castle	Castle	Abbeville	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN004-022001-	378
Ardcrony	Burial Mound (Cist)	Ardcrony	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN015-013	604
Ashleypark	Burial Mound (Cist)	Ashleypark	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN015-009	573
Ballynahow Castle	Castle	Ballynahow	Tipperary North	Ownership	TNI041-019	234
Timoney Hills	Standing Stones	Cullaun, Timenyhills, Timoney	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN018-012, TN018-021, TN018- 015	353
Holycross Abbey	Abbey (Cistercian) (part of)	Holycross	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN047-030001-	121
Liathmore	Two Churches	Leigh	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN042-055001-, TN042-055003-	266
Lismacrory	Mounds	Lismacrory	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN008-021, TN008-022	348
Lorrha	Church & two crosses	Lorrha	Tipperary North	Guardianship	TN004-010008-, TN004-010009-, TN004-010010-	673
Lorrha	Priory (Augustinian)	Lorrha	Tipperary North	Guardianship	TN004-010006-	357
Lorrha	Friary (Dominican)	Lorrha	Tipperary North	Guardianship	TN004-010001-	361

NAME	DESCRIPTION	TOWNLAND	COUNTY	LEG_STATUS	RMP NUMBER	Nat_Mon_No
Monaincha	Church & Cross	Monaincha	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN018-001001-, TN018-001003-	125
Nenagh Castle	Castle	Nenagh North	Tipperary North	Guardianship	TN020-037001-	513
Roscrea Friary	Friary (Franciscan)	Parkmore	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN012-010010-	
Portland	Church	Portland	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN004-008001-	451
Terryglass Castle	Castle	Terryglass	Tipperary North	Guardianship	TN006-025	363
Roscrea	Church, Round Tower, High Cross & Mill	Townparks	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN012-010001-, TN012-010005-, TN012-010006-	126
Roscrea Castle	Castle	Townparks	Tipperary North	Ownership	TN012-010007-	211