ELECTION COMMISSION OF INDIA

Nirvachan Sadan, Ashoka Road, New Delhi - 110 001

No. ECI/PN/ 42 /2011

Dated: 20th June, 2010

PRESS NOTE

Subject: Biennial and Bye-Elections to the Council of States.

The term of office of 10 members of the Council of States (Rajya Sabha) elected from 3 States, is due to expire on their retirement as detailed below :-

S.No.	State	No.	Name of Member	Date of
		of		retirement
		seats		
1.	Goa	1	Shri Naik Shantaram Laxman	28.07.2011
2.	Gujarat	3	Shri Patel Ahmedbhai Mohmmedbhai	18.08.2011
			Shri Pravinchandra Raghunathji Naik	18.08.2011
			Shri Patel Surendra Motilal	18.08.2011
3.	West Bengal	6	Shri Abani Roy	18.08.2011
			Vacant due to death of Shri Arjun	18.08.2011
			Kumar Sengupta on 26.9.2010	
			Shri Mohammad Amin	18.08.2011
			Smt. Brinda Karat	18.08.2011
			Shri Sitaram Yechury	18.08.2011
			Shri Swapan Sadhan Bose	18.08.2011

2. Apart from the above, there are also two casual vacancies in the Council of States from Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu. The details of the vacancies are as under :-

S. No.	State	Name of Member	Cause & date of vacancy	Term of office upto
1	Maharashtra	Shri Prithviraj Chavan Dajisaheb	Resigned on 06.05.11	02.04.2014
2	Tamil Nadu	Shri K. V. Ramalingam	Resigned on 20.05.11	29.06.2016

3. The Election Commission has decided to hold the biennial elections to the Council of States from the said States of Goa, Gujarat & West Bengal and bye-elections to the Council of States from the States of Maharashtra and Tamil Nadu, in accordance with the following schedule :-

1	•	Issue of Notifications	5 th July, 2011 (Tuesday)
2	2.	Last date of making nominations	12 th July, 2011 (Tuesday)

3.	Scrutiny of nominations	13 th July, 2011 (Wednesday)
4.	Last date for withdrawal of candidatures	15 th July, 2011 (Friday)
5.	Date of poll	22 nd July, 2011 (Friday)
6.	Hours of poll	9.00 A.M. to 4.00 P.M
7.	Counting of Votes	22 nd July, 2011 (Friday) at 5.00 PM
8.	Date before which election shall be completed	25 th July, 2011 (Monday)

(YASHVIR SINGH) DIRECTOR