

The National Academy of Sciences, India (NASI)

&

Jaypee Institute of Information Technology (JIIT)

will be organizing the

Professor A. C. Banerji Memorial Lecture

on International Year of Light and Fiber Optics by Professor Ajoy Ghatak, Formerly Professor of Physics at IIT Delhi

Professor B. K. Bachhawat Memorial Lecture

on Genome Science: Shaping the Life of Tomorrow

by Professor Rajesh S. Gokhale, Director CSIR-Institute of Genomics and Integrative Biology, New Delhi on March 16, 2016 at 2:30 PM

> in Jayprakash Sabhaghar (Auditorium) Jaypee Institute of Information Technology A-10, Sector-62 (opp. Shipra Mall and Behind expo-centre), Noida, UP-201307

Professor (Mrs.) Manju Sharma, Padma Shri & Padma Bhusan, Distinguished Women Scientist Chair, NASI & Former President, NASI will preside over the function





Professor Ajoy Ghatak did his BSc from Agra College, M.Sc. from University of Delhi and Ph.D. from Cornell University and was a Research Associate at Brookhaven National Laboratory. He joined IIT Delhi in 1966 where he was a Professor of Physics. He now spends his time doing guest lectures at schools, colleges and universities. Professor Ghatak is author of several books, including his texts on OPTICS, Fiber Optics (coauthored with Professor K Thyagarajan) and on Quantum Mechanics (coauthored with Professor S. Lokanathan). His latest book is Albert Einstein: A Glimpse of his Life, Philosophy & Science. He is recipient of several awards including the 2008 SPIE Educator award and the 2003 Optical Society of America Esther Hoffman Beller award; the 1979 CSIR S. S. Bhatnagar award, the 16th Khwarizmi International award, the International Commission for Optics Galileo Galilei award and the Indian Physics Association M. M. Chugani award.

Professor Rajesh S. Gokhale did his M.Sc. in Biotechnology from IIT Bombay and Ph.D. in Molecular Biophysics from the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore and then carried out postdoctoral work at Stanford University. He is the Co-founder of Vyome Biosciences, a biopharmaceutical company developing drugs for dermatology care utilizing genomics knowledge. He has earned international recognition for his work in understanding tuberculosis pathogenesis, with a focus to understand complex cell envelope coat of mycobacterium, a unique feature of this pathogen. He is the recipient of several awards including the Infosys Prize 2013, Swarnajayanti Fellowship 2006 – 2011, the S. S. Bhatnagar Prize 2006 and the National Bioscience Award for Career Development 2009.

About the Awards



Professor A. C. Banerji Memorial Lecture Award is an award lecture in the memory of Professor Amiya Charan Banerji, who was one of the most renowned mathematicians of India. His particular contribution was the Cepheid Theory of the Origin of the Solar System in 1942 which predicted the existence of many more planetary systems and explained the origin of binary stars. He initiated the work on Astrophysics with Professor M.N. Saha. He made important contributions in hydrodynamics, wave mechanics, nuclear physics, theory of relativity and galactic dynamics. He was a great scholar of Sanskrit and Bengali. One of his greatest contributions is the children's encyclopaedia 'SHISHU BHARTI' written in Bengali. Professor Banerji was associated with many academic societies, such as Fellow, Royal Astronomical Society; Founder Fellow, the National Academy of Sciences, India; President, Mathematics Section, Indian Science Congress Association (1940). He had been elected the General President of the Indian Science Congress (1968-69) but could not deliver the Presidential Address due to his sudden demise on 31 May, 1968. The award is given out of the endowment created by his son Sri Milon K. Banerji, Attorney General of India.



2:30-2:32 PM

4:21-4:35 PM

4:35-4:40 PM

Professor B. K. Bachhawat Memorial Lecture Award is given in the memory of Professor Bimal Kumar Bachhawat, who was one of the most renowned biochemist. He had contributed to the basic understanding of the metabolism of branched-chain amino acids. He developed various analytical tools for biochemical analysis with the help of lectins. A number of inborn errors in metabolism leading to mental retardation were for the first time demonstrated by him in India. These diseases were related to abnormal metabolism in glyco-conjugate. His studies with artificial membrane led to the development of glycolipid liposomes for tissue targeting of drugs and enzymes. He was the Fellow of Indian National Science Academy, New Delhi, Indian Academy of Sciences, Bangalore, The National Academy of Sciences, India, Allahabad; and President of Indian Association for the Cultivation of Science, Society of Biological Chemistry and Neurological Society of India. He was awarded with many prestigious prizes and recognitions as S. S. Bhatnagar Prize (1962), Amrut Mody Research Foundation Award (1974), Institute of Science Golden Jubilee Gold Medal (1976), R. N. Chopra Lectureship (1977), J. C. Bose Award (1980), B. C. Guha Award (1984), FICCI Award (1985), J.B Chatterjee Gold Medal (1986), R. D. Birla Samarak Kosh Award (1986), Distinguished Scientist Lecture, CSIR (1989) and Padma Bhushan in 1990.

Program

2:32-2:37 PN	Welcome Address
2:37-2:47 PN	Presidential Remarks by Professor Manju Sharma, Distinguished Women Scientist Chair, NASI & Former President, NASI
2:47-2:57 PN	Inaugural Address by Chief Guest
2:57-2:59 PN	Introduction of the Speaker
2:59-3:39 PN	Professor A. C. Banerji Memorial Lecture Award 2015 on International Year of Light and Fiber Optics by Professor Ajoy Ghatak, Formerly Professor of Physics at
	IIT Delhi
3:39-3:41 PN	Introduction of the Speaker
3:41-4:21 PM	Professor B. K. Bachhawat Memorial Lecture Award on Genome Science: Shaping the Life of Tomorrow by Professor Rajesh S. Gokhale, Director CSIR-Institute of
	Genomics and Integrative Biology, New Delhi

Vote of thanks by Professor U. C. Srivastava, General Secretary, NASI 4:40-5:00 PM **High Tea**

Presentation Ceremony for both Awards

Inauguration by lamp lighting